Try This Seadfood Salad

Tako, Octopus, Pulpo, Krake, He’e, in any language, it’s wonderful.

Tako Poke

As a young person, I would go spear-fishing often and I sought out those shy creators. I’m not very good at cooking this cephalopod, so now, here in the middle of the desert, I find it already cooked. We have an Asian Market about a 45 minute drive from us and they carry all kinds of goodies that DH and I look for, like Tako. The Asian influence is very strong in Hawaii, so is fishing; there are many dishes that start with Octopus.

Poke, pronounced POO-KAY, is a salad or appetizer made of your choice of seafood, with or with any vegetables. You can use raw or cooked products. There are as many Poke recipes as there are people in kitchens. I’ve read some cookbooks that have any number of ingredients, but in my book, the simpler the better.

Tako Poke Ingredients

Tako Poke

1/4 lb. cooked Octopus, chopped or sliced thin

1/2 of a large Sweet White Onion, rough chopped

2-3 Green Onions, thinly sliced

3 Tbsp. Soy Sauce

1 tsp. Sesame Oil

1/8 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes

1/4 tsp. toasted Sesame Seeds

In a large bowl, add all of the above ingredients and mix well.

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 1 hour to allow the flavors to marry.

Tako Poke

Try this at your next potluck or cocktail party. Don’t tell anyone what it is, other than it’s a Hawaiian dish that you found. I did this recently at a friend’s home. I wasn’t sure if I should do that, but DH said that if no one ate it, that’s okay, he would.

Here’s how I look at a new recipe that I want to try, I make a smaller portion of it. That way if we don’t care for it, no harm, no foul.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Try This Seadfood Salad

  1. […] on our last trip back home to Hawaii. I should rephrase that, Poke or Seafood Salad. I shared my Tako Poke or Octopus Salad, it’s cooked, not all Poke has to be raw. I also make a Mussel Poke for DH (I’m […]

  2. […] on our last trip back home to Hawaii. I should rephrase that, Poke or Seafood Salad. I shared my Tako Poke or Octopus Salad, it’s cooked, not all Poke has to be raw. I also make a Mussel Poke for DH (I’m […]

  3. Joey Hughes May 18, 2017 at 3:53 pm Reply

    I have some raw calamari rings and tentacles in the freezer that i need to do something with. Was going to add them last minute to a pasta fagioli but like the poke idea….do i just blanch the calamari first or is there another cooking method you would recommend? Not sure i will use the tentacles, as they might be too weird, but maybe not. I love the marinated octopus cocktail you can get in Mexico.
    Your mussel poke sounds bomb!

    • auntiedoni May 18, 2017 at 4:02 pm Reply

      JOEY!!!
      Girl, ya know I myself have never cooked Tako, always got it already cooked, but from what I understand it’s either real quick boil or super long simmer, I’d try the quick technique. AND I LOVE the tentacles as well as the body meat of Octopus. Please do try the cooked Tako Poke as well as the Mussel Poke, Michael likes the Mussels spicy as in Korean Spice. HEH! There’s an idea for a food truck, Poke is hot hot hot right now, you’d sell out every day! We really like Poke Bowls, easy-peasy for a truck too.

Leave a Reply

