An Afternoon Off From The Kitchen

Wahoo!

My Mother has been staying with us for the past couple of weeks.  Yesterday, I took her to have her hair done and next door to the Salon is this great restaurant. DH is not a fan of this place, so we only go to eat there when it’s a girls’ day out.

Lunch out with my Mother

We had not been there for some time and they have remodeled the interior. It’s gorgeous in soothing blue tones and clean white walls. It was a warm and sunny day for a change so the patio tables were all taken, that was okay though. I tried to take photos as inconspicuously as I could, but that didn’t work out. I did get pics of the food in front of us.

Ciabatta with dipping Oil

Our server was wonderful. She asked if we had come in recently, as they had undergone some changes. She went over the menu and brought us some Ciabatta and Olive Oil flavored with Parmesan cheese and herbs for dipping.  This bread was so good not only in taste, but the smell!  I stuck my nose in it and inhaled deeply, AHHH!

Fish & Chips

My Mother ordered the Beer battered Cod with French fries, Cole Slaw and a Caper Aioli.  Just look at that, need I say more?

Perfectly cooked fish

The fish was cooked perfectly. I have found that folks here on the Mainland cook their fish way past done. This Cod was so moist and nicely flaky with the batter clinging to it beautifully.

Crisp Calamari Salad

Here’s where I start to drool.

I have been dreaming of this plate for quite some time, and now finally, finally it was there for me to savor.

Crisp Calamari Salad with mizuna greens and yuzu/sesame dressing, fantastic. The flavors all bounced off of each other in perfect harmony. A glass of Pinot Grigio rounded out my meal.

We looked, just looked at the dessert menu.

Honestly, we didn’t have enough room left for anything more.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

