Kahlua Cake, My Favorite, Well One Of Them Anyway

When I was still twenty-something, I went to a potluck Christmas party.

In Hawaii, food is a big thing.  Men and women take genuine pride in the dishes that they make.  It was such a blast to go to potlucks; you never knew what would be on that groaning table full of food.  When I say table, I refer to what is called the Luau-sized table.  They could easily be 20 feet long with plain white paper tapped to the top.

I remember this particular party because of this cake that was my dream come. I’m not one for sweet, sticky, gooey icings or frostings. My sister loved it when we had cake as kids, because she could always have the frosting that I scraped off. I’d just eat the cake and not the icing, unless it’s German Chocolate cake, that’s a whole n’other story. I must have had three pieces of this wonderful Bundt cake. I sought out the maker and begged her to give me the recipe. She swore me to secrecy, that I could make this cake for other people, but I couldn’t share the recipe. My sister doesn’t feel as though it’s Christmas if I don’t make and/or send her this cake. Many years later, I was searching the Internet and found many recipes very similar to the one that I had been given.

I am not the best baker out there.  I use to bake a lot when I was younger, but as time marches on, so do our waistlines.  But Christmas is a time for indulgence. Normally, I make most of what DH and I eat from scratch, no packaged dinners and such. But this is how I learned to make this cake, and I’m sticking to it.

Kahlua Cake

1 Duncan Hines Butter Recipe cake mix (any brand will do)

1 pkg Instant Vanilla Pudding

4 Eggs

½ C Kahlua

½ C Vegetable Oil

½ C Water

 

In electric mixer, beat eggs; add the remaining cake ingredients beat on medium speed for 4 minutes. Pour into a well greased and floured Bundt pan and bake at 350⁰ for about 50 minutes. Cool in pan for 5 minutes.

 

Glaze:

1 stick (8 Tbsp) Butter

¼ C Kahlua

½ C Water

1 C Granulated Sugar

 

In a small saucepan melt the butter and then stir in the remaining ingredients; boil for 3 minutes.

Pour over the warm cake still in the Bundt pan.

Cool for 1 hour before removing.

This cake is best on the second day.

This cake is moist but not overly so. The booze in it isn’t so strong that it’s like jet fuel, burning your throat on the way down. This past Christmas, DH and I spent the holiday with very dear friends of ours and I took this cake, made up all fancy like. I still can’t believe that domed cake stand didn’t break along the way in our car. As we were leaving, Missus Dear Friend came running out, ‘you forgot this’.  I told her what My Grandmother would say, you give it back to me when you see me again, and I’ll fill it back up for you.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Kahlua Cake, My Favorite, Well One Of Them Anyway

  1. Joey February 7, 2013 at 9:54 am Reply

    Tank you for posting your Kahlua cake eclipse…I am very excited to make it…..a question though, do you normally eat it as a breakfast cake or with an afternoon cup of joe or do you serve it as dessert with an infused whipped cream or ice cream, or all of the above? I can see all ways…just wondering what your favorite way to serve it is….thanks auntie don’t
    Joey

  2. Joey February 7, 2013 at 9:57 am Reply

    Sorry about all the misspellings and typos auntie don’t….the learning curve ever prevails in iPad land…just got the iPad for dummies book….now I need to read it!
    Thanks again for all your goodies…..
    Joey

    • auntiedoni February 7, 2013 at 11:40 am Reply

      … let me know if and when you try this cake. and I have that book too, funny, still can’t get that dang thing to work right 😮

  3. auntiedoni February 7, 2013 at 11:34 am Reply

    CAKE !!
    Really, friend Joey, anyway you slice it ( HA 🙂 ), it’s a really good, solid, purely honest cake.
    Breakfast, lunch, dessert after dinner, at 3 o’clock in the morning, with or without a cuppa coffee, whipped cream infused with more Kahlua, oh man how about some handmade fresh vanilla bean ice cream, YUM ! Maybe that’s why I left the other half of that cake at our friend’s home? I understand Mister Dear Friend had a piece of cake for breakfast and exclaimed that I should start a biz and sell this stuff, and he doesn’t go for sweets…

Leave a Reply

