PIE !!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I am not the world’s best baker. Though I do love desserts, I’m more of the Ice Cream crowd. Just grab a spoon, no fuss, no muss. A friend of mine, well, she challenged me to make a dessert to share with the class, so to speak. I was doing my usual walk-through in the supermarket, just glancing at stuff, when something that I hadn’t seen in years stopped me in my tracks.

DreamWhip®

Do You Remember This?

WOW!

Then I saw the ready-made pie crusts, and they had this one that was made of chocolate wafers, DING DING DING!

Chocolate Pie From The Desert

Chocolate Pie From The Desert

1 box Dream Whip

2 boxes sugar free Chocolate Fudge Instant Pudding

2 ¾ C. cold Milk

1 tsp. Vanilla (or what about Rum Extract?)

1 packet Starbucks VIA® Dark Roast Coffee (this stuff is great for road trips)

Kebbler® Chocolate Ready Crust®

In a large bowl, add the two packets of Dream Whip that are in the box with 1 cup of the cold milk and beat to soft peaks (I used my stand mixer). Add in the remaining milk and other ingredients and beat on medium for about 2 minutes, until the pudding thickens up. You might have to stop to scrape the sides of the bowl every so often.

Carefully un-crimp the foil edges of the pie crust and remove the plastic insert, set that aside, you’ll need this later. Pour the pudding mixture into the crust and spread it out using an offset spatula. Invert the plastic cover to dome over the pie, carefully setting the edge back into the crimp that it came out of. Fold the foil edges over the plastic; refrigerate until firm, best overnight.

You may think that the instant coffee isn’t necessary, but it really brings out the chocolate flavor. In particular when using the sugar free pudding mix, you won’t taste  that fake sweetener aftertaste.

Here’s a fun thing my DH dreamt up as we were about to cut into this beauty, Chocolate Rocks, that’s right, what a fun idea. So he set about to ‘decorate’ the top with chocolate rock candies.

It was dang good too!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

