Let’s Go Shopping!

Since I’ve retired, I have had the luxury of now doing what I’ve wanted, I am a Home Maker. That may sound terribly old fashion in the 21st century, but I truly enjoy making a house a home. DH refers to me, lovingly, as the COO, chief operating officer. When I first started this blog, I made mention in my introduction or my ‘About’ page, that I wanted to share not only the food that I put on the table, but how it got there, aka, SHOPPING!

On Sunday I went to the local Walmart, were I only buy a few items. I frequent several stores for just certain ingredients, what the heck, I’ve got all the time. I am absolutely crazy for grocery shopping. My husband has a part time job that he goes to twice a week to keep himself busy and that’s when I head out. I have learned over the past 5 + years of living here in the middle of the desert, to have my trusty little Sony Cyber-shot in my purse at all times. Our friends and family members know already that they can’t dig into their plates until I take a picture of it. Even my mother’s traveling companions make sure that one of them takes photos of each meal that they have, all around the world, thanks ladies!

As I was going up and down each aisle, even though I know my regular haunts like the back of my hand, I make a point of looking for something that I’ve never seen before. This last excursion was no expectation. I have a chef-y friend who simply cannot stomach Spam, you know, Hawaii’s most popular meat. If she had been standing there with me, she would have been rolling on the floor with tears streaming down her cheeks.

Don’t get me wrong here, I like Spam. My mother bought one and told me that it was actually very good (she doesn’t cook any more, just nukes stuff).

 

Not far from the premade-packaged-microwaveable-shelf stable dinners, I spied this, but I couldn’t keep my hand steady enough to get a decent snapshot.

When I got home, I went to their website; I put this one in the ‘are you for real’ category. WAIT! Candwich also comes in PB&J. Oh my gravy all over my two scoops rice (that’s OMG ! in my world). REALLY?

I prefer to scratch-cook as much as I possibly can, with a few cheats here and there. DH and I are trying to change our wicked, wicked ways by cutting our salt, sugar and saturated fats. As a matter of fact, only this morning my husband said how much better he feels since our sublte change in diet.  Not that we ate poorly, we’re just taking small steps to ensure that we live a long and healthy life together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Let’s Go Shopping!

  1. Joey February 19, 2013 at 12:15 pm Reply

    the world is clearly having a culinary nervous breakdown!…..oh my, what can one say to canwiches? besides all the really bad health and nutritional issues,they are most probably expensive to boot…..at least a whole lot more expensive than a couple of pieces of bread with a couple of pieces of cheese, lettuce, veggies and sprouts…….totally distressing to see this…just when you think it can’t get any worse, something like this comes along…..I thought things had hit the high mark for bad when peanut butter and jelly came in the same jar!
    thanks for passing this along auntiedoni……if I ever see someone buying them, I will not hesitate to speak up……what ……don’t people like their kids enough to feed them well…..
    only comment on the spam ready meals is ‘red beans and rice’….oh my…..don’t ever tell a Cajun!

    joey

    • auntiedoni February 19, 2013 at 2:29 pm Reply

      … the spam ready-made meals were just for you, friend! 😉
      SPAM SPAM AND SPAM!
      ALOHA, your pal

  2. Mrs Beans February 19, 2013 at 4:26 pm Reply

    Ha ha! When I moved here and shopped at WalMart for really the first time in my life on a regular basis….anyway, I saw the SPAM things and also took a photo & sent them to my husband.

    • auntiedoni February 19, 2013 at 4:32 pm Reply

      LQTM! Mrs. Beans, I had NEVER shopped in a Walmart before moving to the middle of the desert. I think that some the stuff that I find is hysterical. Come back for a look later this evening for a follow up.
      Mahalo once again for stopping by, really appreciate it.
      ALOHA!

Leave a Reply

