Hawaiian Food In The Middle Of The Desert?

Yesterday was ALOHA FRIDAY! That means we gotta have some kind of ‘local’ or Hawaiian food if you will. I don’t remember if I mentioned that I met this man in our small neighborhood that is from Honolulu, but anywhos… He and his wife invited us to lunch.

Lani’s Luau In Tucson Arizona

When my husband and I first moved to Arizona, we had heard of this joint and had gone to visit once before, but it’s a long drive from our house and we just never made it back there.

Our new friends came and picked us up and Mister New Friend drove, over an hour, in to town way over on the East side of Tucson.

Uber-cute place, nothing fancy, but that’s exactly the type of places we like, just honest, solid, really food. Of course having Hawaiian food sure does help in my book! I had a heck of a time deciding on my lunch order, everyone else, no problem. I tend to do that and my husband explained to our new friends about my passion for food and the blogging thing. I wanted to wander around, take pictures and talk with Lani herself. Leilani and Zane Dowling are the owners and operators of Lani’s Luau and they do a great job! Zane wasn’t there yesterday, but we met him on our last visit. Funny, Lani remembered all of us having come in before.

Mister New Friend and I both ordered the #9 plate, Kalua Pork, Pork Laulau, Chicken Long Rice, Lomi Salmon and poke. I requested any extra of 1 scoop rice, a small poi and potato-mac salad, Mister New Friend had the green salad and medium poi.

I spied in the cold-case up front, Aloha-maid canned drinks, oh baby! Gotta have me one POG! (Passion-orange-guava drink) WHAT!? No MORE? SHOT! Well, the Iced Tea is pretty ONO (delicious) too.

Lani's Luau in Tucson AZ

Funny enough, Missus new Friend and my husband both ordered the Teriyaki Chicken, well DH added the Mahimahi to his chicken plate.

Lani's Luau in Tucson AZ

We all stayed and chatted and had a very nice Aloha Friday eating very delicious Hawaiian food, watching a video of a hula completion back home in Hawaii and wishing we were there. Mahalo Lani and A HUI HOU… until we met again.

ALOHA!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hawaiian Food In The Middle Of The Desert?

  1. Hollygirl March 2, 2013 at 10:40 am Reply

    Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

