On The Hunt For Something New And Tasty

Not to say that both my husband and I made any type of New Year’s Resolution, but since the middle of January we have changed our ways. Mostly, we have changed how we look at food. I must tell you all that I would trade you anything for something from the ‘white food group’ right about now. I deeply miss my two scoops rice with Aloha Shoyu and Furikake, roasted potatoes, some bread, any which way you would give to me and well, I could go on. In the middle of the night, I heard my husband mumbling in his sleep about pasta and pizza, the wall is cracking I fear.

For lunch, more often than not, I whip up an entrée sized salad for each of us. This consists of a variety of raw vegetables and 4 ounces of some kind of protein. It has made the calorie counting easier with the fact that neither of us care for gobs of dressing, if any at all.

DH actually prefers a vinaigrette type of dressing. I found Maple Grove Farms Fat Free Balsamic Vinaigrette at, of all places, Walmart. Here’s the funny thing, I already swear by their brand of Pure Maple Syrup. Writing this blog is teaching me a thing or two. I look products up on the WWW, A LOT!!

The other day I was in one of my favorite stores to shop for fresh fruits and veggies, Sprouts (sorry, they’re only in the West). With this new-way-of-thinking-about-food philosophy, I no longer even walk past my beloved refrigerated Ranch or Blue Cheese dressing. On this fateful day I had to, the bulk bin of baby spinach is over there. What did I spy but a NEW creamy-style dressing that I had never noticed before, made with yogurt, Bolthouse Farms.  I plucked my granny-glasses from atop my head and examined the back panel for fat, sugar and calories. The ingredients are a) natural and b) not as long as my arm. The first flavor of decadent looking beauty that I picked up was the Caesar Parmigiano. I was so excited, I did that little yummy dance right there! I asked the cashier if she had tried this brand and she said that they had just started carrying it and that the feedback has been very positive. I must report that it is very tasty and I need to try the Blue Cheese and Ranch flavors.  Now, let’s dance!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “On The Hunt For Something New And Tasty

  1. Hollygirl March 3, 2013 at 10:09 am Reply

    That caesar looks great! I will have to look for it. Do they have a lot of sugar?

    • auntiedoni March 3, 2013 at 11:31 am Reply

      Happy No-Sew Sunday Hollygirl!
      Is that not the most yummy-est looking salad dressing you’ve ever seen? I need to try it as a veggie-dip too, OOOHHHHH!!
      Take a look at the hyperlink that I have hightlighted in regards to each product…
      but, yeah, only 2g of sugar per 2 tablespoons of the Bolthouse Caesar Parm dressing!

Leave a Reply

