What Do You Put In Your Easter Baskets?

At lunch the other day, my mother reminded us that Easter is coming early this year. WHAT? Sure enough, I pulled out the calendar and Easter Sunday falls on March 31st. Last year, rather than make up baskets of candy for my DH and mom, I made Iced Sugar cookies.

Easter Cookies instead of Candy

WHAT WAS I THINKING?!

This was the absolute first (and probably last) time that I will undertake such a long, drawn out project. I should say though, it was fun and I was quite pleased with the outcome. These are just the cutest cookies I’ve ever made. I adapted a recipe from Martha Stewart and the FoodNetwork Magazine, morphing the two together. I probably should have rolled out the dough a touch thicker, it was a fragile final product. The royal icing was a challenge, as I’d never done this before. It took driving all around town to several places to find the meringue powder. I used just plain ‘ole liquid food coloring from the supermarket to tint the icing. I piped it using simple sandwich baggies with the corners snipped.

I was on my feet for most of the day and my back was aching! Normally, if I know I’m going to be in the kitchen standing for periods of time, I put on my walking sneaks. I was so excited to get this ball rolling that I was in my bare feet and didn’t think about it until it was too late. But it was a blast and both DH and mom were impressed, they thought I bought them at a fancy bakery.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What Do You Put In Your Easter Baskets?

  1. The Weary Chef March 4, 2013 at 9:30 am Reply

    Those are so cute and professional looking! I am way too weary for that! I put fruity, colorful cereal, a few quarters, and some candy in my kids’ plastic eggs. Then they get a couple little toys and other treats. I saw a cute idea to put puzzle pieces in eggs for egg hunts, then put them together at the end. Going to do that this year!

    • auntiedoni March 4, 2013 at 10:31 am Reply

      What a fantastic idea Andi! This year we will have our nephews with us, they’re 12 & 10. This will be interesting, Tweens. Well, at least I do know that they love food and to eat, got that covered…

Leave a Reply

