Happy Anniversary Gift

My mother is so cute. This is how she finds out what I REALLY want as a gift, she says, “let’s go shopping and then out to lunch”.

When I go to pick her up, it’s the driver’s choice. Since DH doesn’t care to shop and lunch, it’s just the two chickadees. Not too long ago, Home Goods opened and you already know my weakness for things that go in a kitchen or on the table. We started to browse and my eye was immediately drawn to this beautiful ceramic centerpiece with matching candle sticks.

Happy Anniversary from Mom

WHOA NELLY! That was more than I had planned on spending on this particular expedition, so I took a pass till later. A few weeks later, mom and I took an afternoon off and went back to Home Goods, only to find my discovery from our previous trip was sold out. SHOOTS! A couple of months later it was our wedding anniversary; my mother invited us to a nice dinner at one of our favorite restaurants (we’ll save that for another time). When we got to mom’s apartment she asked if we’d like a cocktail before we went. She came back out from the kitchen with this big box, “Happy Anniversary”, she shouted. There it was! She had found it at a different location while on vacation with her friends in Colorado and hand carried it home.

Happy Anniversary from Mom

LOVE IT! Thanks Mom!

 

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary Gift

  1. Tom March 6, 2013 at 10:33 am Reply

    Absolutely beautiful! and what a wonderful surprise:) Happy belated Anniversary… tom

    • auntiedoni March 6, 2013 at 3:26 pm Reply

      Aloha Tom, so glad to see you here once again.
      I wanted to thank you and yours for your support, MAHALO! 🙂

  2. Joey March 6, 2013 at 11:00 am Reply

    looks VERY Italian doni…I love a bowl of lemons on the table..I so agree with you that one can never have enough interesting china, glassware, colorful napkins and linens……what putting on a pair of cute shoes does to your step, so goes it with tableware IMO…
    your lemons make your table look like springtime….and easter.

    joey

    • auntiedoni March 6, 2013 at 3:25 pm Reply

      Why, how very astute of you Joey. Yes, these are from Italy. I know that they are quite old fashion, but I just love that stuff.
      If DH had his way, we’d use all paper products on the table and toss it all out at the end of each meal. WHAT? That’s why Williams Howard Livens invited the automatic dishwasher! 😮

  3. Joey March 8, 2013 at 11:27 pm Reply

    auntie doni, don’t forget I come from a very looong line of Italian…Sicilian actually, soo have seen my fair share of Italian tableware!.. I still have lots of it from my grandmother and mother and great aunts, and as time marches on I seem to find any little excuse to pull it out …who cares that it doesn’t ‘t go with high country Colorado mountain cabin motif….I love it!

    joey

Leave a Reply

