Love On A Plate From Hawaii, Zippy’s Chicken & Chili

I know that folks on the mainland talk about chicken and waffles, shot, we even had chicken and waffle potato chips yesterday (not a fan). Back home in Hawaii, on the island of Oahu to more specific, one of our favorite places to eat is Zippy’s. I would hope that you’ve already read about my quest to figure out how to make Zippy’s Macaroni Salad, the best in the world mac salad. I tried for years to figure out how to replicate this recipe, here in the middle of the desert and finally nailed it not so long ago. There are two other dishes that are equally renowned and those are Zippy’s Fried Chicken and Chili.

OH MY GRAVY ALL OVER MY TWO SCOOPS OF RICE!

That’s OMG! in my world, and I’m shouting because when you put those two together with two scoops of rice AND the mac salad, you will be in heaven.

When we first left Hawaii for Arizona and would go back for visits, we always brought home frozen packages of the Chili, the chicken, well, you just have to eat your share while you’re in Hawaii.

I think that I might almost be on to a mashed-up recipe of sorts that is getting very close to getting the chicken down too. I’ll let you know.

Now the Chili is a whole ‘nother bag of beans, it’s proving to be very difficult. It’s not quite like a Cincinnati chili, but kind of. As you can see, it’s very thick for one thing, and the taste is so unique. I’ve saved the ingredient panel from the box that the frozen package comes in, but I haven’t been able to get it right, YET!

In the mean time, we have one more package of frozen Zippy’s Chili in the deep freezer, so I guess that means that we have to make another trip back home!

Frozen Zippy’s Chili

ALOHA!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

