Honey Is Food

When we lived in Hawaii, I had a boatload of problems with air-borne allergies. My husband had NONE, and couldn’t understand why I was sneezing so much.

WELL! The worm has turned!

DH now has a TERRIBLE time with his Roman nose. I have been gently suggesting that we get him some local raw honey. I remember reading somewhere how this was not necessarily a sure-cure, but that it could help. No dice my friends, he claims that he doesn’t care for honey. Oh Man, gimme a hot biscuit slathered in butter and dripping in honey and I’m in piggy heaven.

Over Easter/Spring Break, our sweet niece and her two boys were visiting from back East and she also made the same observation. On one of our outings, she noticed that our neighborhood-old-style-real-customer-service-pharmacy was selling honey. Try as she might, she couldn’t get the car to turn in and stop there.

Yesterday, I was out running a few errands and I stopped in to have a chat with our super-friendly pharm-tech. She agreed that this could help pollen suffering folk, by ingesting 1 teaspoon of local raw honey each day.

HONEY-ed Iced Tea

Did someone say sweet tea for everyone?

The first glass I made, I didn’t let on to DH that the tea was sweetened with honey. Today, though, he caught me making his jumbo-sized glass to go along with lunch.  I went over the benefits once again; iced tea sweetened with honey will now be on the menu every afternoon, at least through the Summer anyway.

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Honey Is Food

  1. Hollygirl April 16, 2013 at 9:25 am Reply

    This really does help but it MUST be locally grown! Not just regular honey from the grocery store. We’ve also had success with local bee pollen but I would suffice to say you could NEVER get the boy to eat THAT ❤ I give it to the dogs too. Try a honey facial!!! Crush up some almonds and mix with the honey and slather on your face for a delicious boost. Honey is a great healer both inside and out.

    • auntiedoni April 16, 2013 at 10:49 am Reply

      A facial, huh? HMMM … is that how you keep your skin so young and beautiful looking, Hollygirl? I’ll have to try that too! But, yeah, we got a nice big jar of local raw honey, which just recently became available in our area. 🙂

Leave a Reply

