Something Different To Take Home

Whenever DH and I travel, whether it’s across the country or the Pacific Ocean, I like to bring back different types of souvenirs. Last year from Hawaii, I brought back a Maki Sushi form so that we could make Cucumber Sushi the easier way. Now each time that I make it, I think about that trip.

Last week we were at the Grand Canyon, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. There are no words in any language to describe it, you just have to go there and feel it, not just see it. I could easily have sat in one spot (preferable outside on the patio at the El Tovar with a glass of wine), and simply stared off into the abyss for a day. Our time at the Park was spent primarily on the Eastern side of the South Rim; we plain needed more than one day. At each of the different venues that we stopped to look at wares for sale, I was thinking of something different, but nothing struck me. Later that evening, while wondering around the small town of Williams where we were staying, our niece and I went into one of many cute shops along Historic Route 66, and there sat a bar in the middle of the trinkets. Interesting. A lovely woman offered us wine samplings from some of the local vineyards that she had. I chose a nice dry white wine and asked if there were glasses for sale as well. Why, yes, yes they did. NICE!

There’s my memento to take home! No one else in our party found theirs, unfortunately.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

