House-made Salad Dressing

When DH and I went over to a friend’s home for dinner last week; I contributed to the evening’s meal with a salad.

Dinner At A Friend’s Home

Our Host made Smoked Pork loin as the entrée, so I figured that a bold-flavorful-dark green-salad would compliment that well. I was looking in my ‘fridge door for a dressing to along.  I must admit that I normally buy bottled dressings rather than make my own, but on this occasion it seemed like I should make it from scratch.

Prior to moving into our house in the middle of the desert full-time, we rented it as a vacation home, and we would visit once a year. As I filled the cupboards with groceries on this particular trip, I found a bottle of white balsamic vinegar that someone had left, along with the remainder of a small bottle of EVOO. Since I neglected to purchase any dressing, we had a very nice salad made from the gifts left behind by one of our guests, thank you very much. It was delicious!

But I do ramble on as my husband does like to point out.

House-made Salad Dressing

House-made White Balsamic Vinaigrette

1 tbsp. White Balsamic Vinegar

3 tbsp. EVOO

1 large Garlic clove

Goodly pinch of Sea Salt

Freshly ground Black Pepper

¼ tsp. Dijon mustard

Herbs of your choice (I used a little dried Basil & Oregano)

 

Smash the garlic REALLY good on your cutting board using the back of a chef knife. Sprinkle the salt on the garlic and run your knife over the mixture until it forms a paste. Scrap it all up and put it into a small jar with a tight fitting lid, like a mason jar, or empty pickle jar. Add the remaining ingredients, cover and shake well. Taste for seasoning and adjust accordingly.

This recipe may sound quite elementary, but honestly, how many folks do you know that makes salad dressing? It’s a dying culinary art form, and I can think of only one person who still practices it, and she does it for a living!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “House-made Salad Dressing

  1. Tom April 21, 2013 at 10:17 am Reply

    I do, frequently:)

    • auntiedoni April 21, 2013 at 12:52 pm Reply

      Aloha Tom! Did you know that white balsamic has less sodium? Home made dressings are so much better for you too!

Leave a Reply

