Another New Item Found

On another of my store wandering adventures, yes at Trader Joe’s again, I found this.

Trader Joe’s Steamed Lentils. To tell the truth, I had seen this in the refrigerated section previously, but at the time, I couldn’t think of what to do with it in  the ‘use within 2 days of opening’ as stated on the label. I think lentils are terrific and super good for you too.

Where I worked in Honolulu, there was this tiny hole in the wall place that sold an array of cold salads; not the type that you might find in any ole’ place. You got to choose three; my favs were the lentil, curried chicken and mixed green (no dressing please) salads. Very flavorful and they worked well together.

I guess in the back of my mind, that’s what I was thinking when I finally bought the package of plain steamed lentils. Yes, I could easy have cooked my own, but isn’t nice to have some things at the ready?  I had started a pot on the stove of chicken broth for later use. With the poached meat, I made chicken salad for lunch. So now I’ve got this couple of quarts of heavenly golden liquid goodness.

SOUP!

I know we’re headed into the warmer weather, but I could eat soup every day.

All set with my mirepoix

I had already chunked the chicken meat as well as chopped some onions and celery for the salad, so why not keep the knife in hand.

Some carrots and shallots would be nice sautéed in some EVOO and some S&P

Some carrots, celery and shallots (mirepoix in fancy speak) would be nice sautéed in  EVOO and some S&P.

Chicken, Lentil and Veggie Soup, Homemade

I took a handful of the pre-cooked lentils and smushed it to a paste to thicken the soup, just a bit. I also tossed into the soup pot some frozen chopped baby Spinach to add more oomph to the soup. And come on now, can you see the chicken schmaltz ? You don’t get that from a can or carton of stock or broth.  That’s what gives homemade soups their unctuous mouth feel.

That is ONO~LICIOUS~NESS in a bowl! M~M GOOD!

Soup and Sammie Day

A nice bowl of homemade soup cries out for a partner. So let’s have that chicken salad as a Sammie to complete our lunch special of the day.

EAT WELL!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Another New Item Found

  1. Joey May 13, 2013 at 1:45 pm Reply

    your soup looks incredible…love the colors…I love those lentils from T’J’S…..they are great to have on hand as you said….FYI, they freeze really well, so you don’t have to use up the whole package in just a few days. I’m with you, I could eat soup every day. On those days when I just can’t decide what to have for dinner, I usually make soup…..hits the spot every time.

    Joey

    • auntiedoni May 13, 2013 at 4:50 pm Reply

      Oh thank you so much for letting me know that Joey, I was just, I mean just a moment ago, looking at the remains of that package of lentils. I knew I had to do something with them TODAY , so now I know that I can put them in the deep freeze with confidence. Always my best, friend!! 😀

Leave a Reply

