We’ve Lived Here How Long And I Didn’t Make What?

Um, well, it’s like this you see. We’ve lived full time in the middle of the desert for going on six years now and I make only one Mexican/Spanish influenced dish. Me, I love Mexican food, all kinds, with a few exceptions. DH, well so he says, he doesn’t care for Mexican food, but what it really is, he doesn’t like anything creamy.  So any crema, out, avocado, nope, refried beans, absolutely not!  But he surprises himself with the variety of dishes that he will eat; he just can’t remember the names of them.

Carne Asada is a wonderful way to prepare beef or chicken and pork for that matter, and I have not made this at home, until now. As part of our diet, I mean our new way of looking at food, I try very hard to make meals that are as robust as possible. A good way to achieve this is with peppers or chiles. I searched the Internet for a recipe for the marinade and found that I was lacking in a few of the ingredients, how bad could that be, right?  Make it your own.  Recipes are just ideas.

Carne Asada

A Hawaiian Gal’s Spicy Grilled Flank Steak

Juice of ½ a fresh Lemon

Juice of ½ a large fresh Orange

1 Tbsp. ground Chile Powder (we have a wonderful array to choose from here in Arizona)

1/8 tsp. ground Chipotle Pepper (this gave the dish a nice smoky undertone)

¾ Tbsp. dried Oregano

1 Tbsp. freshly toasted and ground Cumin Seeds

¾ Tbsp. freshly toasted and ground Coriander Seeds

3 large Garlic cloves, crushed

2 Tbsp. low-sodium Soy Sauce (you know I love my Aloha Brand)

1 shallot, rough chopped (I didn’t have any onions)

Chuck everything into a small blender (I used the attachment that came with my stick blender) and whiz until smooth.

Carne Asada Marinade

Pour it all into a large zip-top bag along with a pound of Flank or Skirt Steak (I used Flank) that has been sliced on the bias, into 1 inch thick strips. Give it a massage and refrigerate for 36 hours.

Carne Asada on the grill

Grill or broil to your desired doneness. Allow the meat to rest before tucking into it. DH had no clue that this is stuff that was in his soft taco!

Now there are loads of different ways to make the marinade, fresh lime juice (I didn’t have any), fresh chiles (once again, none in the house), I mean I could go on, but why? I took the general idea and made it with what I had in my larder.

A Hawaiian Gal's Taco Salad

And rather than make tacos (we can’t have tortillas yet), I put together a Taco salad, and it was delicious! I used jarred salsa (because that’s what I had on hand) as the salad dressing; some chopped radishes, sweet red and yellow bell peppers, hot house cucumbers, tomatoes, scallions (no onions, `member) and assorted lettuces (NO ICEBREG LETTUCE!)

A~MAZ~ING!

My husband was once again happy with his meal: “where did you get this? And why can’t I have this when we go to Mexican the restaurants”. You can dear, it’s called Carne Asada. “Carrie who?”

Never mind. (lqtm)

(an after thought: do you know Arizona’s 5 C’s?  Copper, Cattle, Cotton, Citrus, and Climate-there’s loads of all of it here, love it!)

ALOHA `YA ALL!

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “We’ve Lived Here How Long And I Didn’t Make What?

  1. Patrons of the Pit June 6, 2013 at 12:29 pm Reply

    Yum, Auntidoni! Nicely done. Glad I popped over here. Much to see I see!

    Aloha!

    • auntiedoni June 6, 2013 at 1:19 pm Reply

      So many Mahalos (thanks) POTP!
      Really glad you stopped by and
      I hope that your busy schedule will
      allow you to do so again soon.
      A hui hou (until we met again),
      ALOHA!
      Auntie Doni

Leave a Reply

