Time For Pupus And Drinks

I belong to a righteous  food forum and last month a challenge began amongst the community. One food item is chosen and the dishes are presented on line. They are rated strictly by photos and description of each contributor. Last month it was gelatin; I am not a fan and therefore did not participate. For the month of May the mystery basket item is offal. I was not planning on making any liver and onions that my Dad so loved and we kids detested. One of the chefs sent me a message asking what I was going to make, as I had missed April’s fun. I thought long and hard about it and remembered something from my youth, Rumaki. That’s one kind of liver that I’ll eat.

I had no idea the origin of Rumaki.

I couldn’t really remember how they were made, as it’s been awhile, so I mashed together a few recipes and come up with my own version.

Pupus on the porch

Auntie’s Chicken Livers

Marinade:

¼ C. Soy Sauce

1 Tbsp. grated fresh Ginger Root

1 large Garlic clove, minced

½ tsp. Curry Powder

¼ lb. Chicken livers, cut into 24 ½ inch pieces

24 slices of canned Water Chestnuts

8 strips of thick cut Bacon, cut into thirds

I marinated the livers and water chestnuts for 1 hour.

Drained well; wrapped one of both the liver and water chestnut in a piece of bacon and rather than wooden toothpicks to secure the lot, I used turkey lacing pins (I gently removed them once they were ready for platting and inserted nicer bamboo forks).

Rumaki with Thai Sweet Chili Sauce

I preheated the grill, and cooked each bundle until well crisped and the livers done to a slight blush on the interior.

don't over cook the chicken liver, a nice blush is great

Back in the day, the dipping sauce was a basic cocktail sauce.

I went for Thai Sweet Chili Sauce instead.

So the flavor profile is the creamy chicken livers, the crunch from the water chestnut, bacon (what more is there to say but bacon), the smoke from the grill, and the sweet-spicy twang from the sauce.

Rumaki and Lychee Martinis

All good pupu platters need a cocktail and Lychee Martinis were stuck in my head from the moment I decided on the Rumaki.

Fresh lychee back home in Hawaii

Since I rarely see fresh lychee here in the middle of the desert, I opted for canned and added a little of the juice in the `tinis.

ALOHA!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Time For Pupus And Drinks

  1. Holly the crazy dog lady May 16, 2013 at 10:50 am Reply

    Broke my Mouth Lidthat

    • auntiedoni May 16, 2013 at 1:12 pm Reply

      Can we say Happy Hour At Your Place? 😀

Leave a Reply

