Oven Roasted Pork Packages

A few days ago we talked about Kalua-style oven roasted pork. I made up 7 pounds of pork butt or shoulder; the house smelled just glorious! I figure, ya’ know, if you’re going to heat up that hot box in the Summer ya’ might as well make it worth the effort.

The brand of prepared Kalua Pig that I WAS  buying (our Asian Market USE TO  bring it in from Hawaii) is sold in a 12 ounce plastic tub, about the same as a quart sized deli-container. Seeing as I am frugal shall we say, I have a large selection of variously sized disposable bowls. I weighed out each portion to the 12 ounces that we are accustom to and froze the bundles of goodness overnight in the deep freeze that’s out in the garage. In the morning, I pulled down my vacuum-sealer and went to work.

Kalua Pig Packages

I wound up getting 6 equal portions for later consumption, minus of course the mandatory tasting of the finished product by the grand poobah (aka DH) and well to be truthful, I had a few bits too. The cook needs to make sure that the food that comes out of their kitchen is edible, right? Or as my mother use to say, “I want to make sure I’m going to poison anyone”.

ALOHA!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

