SURPRISE! Brownies

We have been so good that I felt that DH and I needed a treat. I try harder than is humanly possible to keep temptation out of the house. Sometimes though, it’s okay to give in to your desires. Sugar is the downfall for both of us.

With Monsoon season in full swing, sometimes we get trapped in the house because of flash floods; yesterday was one of those days and I was getting bored.

brownies

SURPRISE!

I can not resist a good, fudgy, chew, chocolate-y, brownie.

Since moving here to the continental United States, I make brownies using Hershey’s Best Brownie recipe. My sister had given me a Hershey’s Cookbook a long time ago; I only just started to use it, but with my own twist. I add a packette of Starbuck’s® Via Ready Brew Italian Roast coffee into the batter. This intensifies the chocolate flavor, such a difference.

My husband likes his plain with icing on top; I like all different kinds of goodies in or on mine.

brownies with peanut butter cups in the middle, suprise!

What I did this time was took mini dark chocolate peanut butter cups and pushed them into the four corners of the pan to bake into the bar.  SUPRISE!

one brownie has chocolate chips and the other nuts

Then down the middle of the pan, I made one row of dark chocolate chips and another of crushed nuts, leaving two rows just plain. So we wound up with 4 different flavored brownies in one batch.  SUPRISE!

DH looks at the pan when it came out of the oven and was cooling on the counter and says “is that’s all you made?”  (Try the recipe for the Creamy Brownie Frosting, it is good)

THEY’RE GONE ALREADY!!

ALOHA!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

