I Didn’t Quite Get This One Right

When I take my mother to lunch at her favorite Taquería, she orders the pork chili verde, ever time! I figured I needed to make some for her at home.

I emailed to my chef-friend Joey for guidance; she recommended that I follow any Rick Bayless recipe. I did several internet searches and the easiest recipe I found was from Rick Bayless.  Thanks Joey!

ingredients for chili verde

I actually morphed a few different recipes into my own using a jarred salsa verde made with tomatillo. If I made my own from scratch, it would have cost me a whole lot more and I just wanted to experiment with this idea first.

The rest of the cast of characters were a small onion, oregano, coriander, ground clove, lots of minced garlic and S&P to season the Pork Butt, about a pound and finally homemade vegetable broth.

I browned the pork chunks, set those aside and then sautéed the onion. Next, in went the spices and the meat was returned to the pot with the salsa and broth.

pork chili verde

The pot was left to simmer most of the day, until the pork was fork tender.

Meh, it was pretty salty, but I think that was because of the jarred sauce.

After conferring again with Joey, she concluded that I try it next time with canned salsa verde rather than the jarred stuff.  Now we know, we’ll try it again mom.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I Didn’t Quite Get This One Right

  1. Joey November 25, 2013 at 11:19 am Reply

    Outside of making your own tomatillo sauce, which by the way is as simple as roasting tomatillos with garlic and onion(jalapeno if you like spice)then processing, try to find ‘Caldillo de tomate verde’ or simply tomatillo ‘broth’. Do you have a mexican market near you? I use doña chonita brand which is under the la costena brand foods umbrella. It comes in cartons, which i love. My thinking also is that because it simmered all day as it reduced and the flavors concentrated, so did the salt.
    I must say though, it looked great…really nice color
    Hope you try it again soon….it is such a wonderful dish and such a great little gem to have in your freezer

    • auntiedoni November 25, 2013 at 6:25 pm Reply

      I SO will try this again! Thanks so such Joey for your kind words, coming from a great chef such as yourself, I’m honored.
      ALOHA my sista’

  2. Mrs Beans December 4, 2013 at 6:48 pm Reply

    The Mister & I endeavor to making the perfect pork chile verde. Mrs P apparently makes some great stuff and she’s going to take me under her wing.

    • auntiedoni December 4, 2013 at 8:15 pm Reply

      My chef-friend Joey and I mulled this over and I think I’ve got it now.

Leave a Reply

