It’s Lunchtime, Tuna Sammies

Did I ever tell you that I went to a private school that served us lunch each day? We were not allowed to bring home lunch, as our lunches (and morning snack in elementary school) were included in the tution. The only time I ate sandwiches was at home during the summer, but not a lot `cuz Mom sent us to Summer School most years for extra credit.

Now, as an adult, I love a good sandwich. I’m not talking about the ever popular PBJ, not my thing. I want something that is going to fill me up for my mid-day meal.

So, on this beautiful sunny day, I started to root around in the pantry and found a jar of kalamata olives, capers, dill pickle relish and a can of water-packed Tuna, DING DING DING! Let’s make Tuna Salad Sammies.

I chopped up some sweet white onions, celery and fresh flat leaf parsley; add dried dill weed, S&P, garlic granules (oops not in the photo, sorry), celery seeds and a small pinch of cayenne for punch. I mixed everybody up in a large bowl with just a whisper of mayonnaise along with the afore mentioned ingredients, chopped, covered and set aside to marry in the `fridge for about an hour. To assemble, I toasted very lightly some 12 grain bread, added a big handful of baby lettuce, a schmear of mayo, a big scoop of tuna salad, slice and serve with your choice of sides.

YUM!

Not my best photograph, but it sure tastes good!

Not my best photograph, but it sure tastes good!

 

Auntie’s Jazzed Up Tuna Salad

 7oz. can Tuna

¼ C. each:

Kalamata Olives, chopped

Capers, chopped

White Onion, chopped

Celery, chopped

Flat leaf Parsley, chopped

½ tsp. granulated Garlic

½ tsp. dried Dill Weed

¼ tsp. Celery Seed

Small pinch of Cayenne

S&P to taste

Mayonnaise to taste

 

Mix everything in a large bowl, cover and refrigerate for about one hour and serve as a sandwich or on a fresh green salad with chopped veggies.

Oh, wait, how about stuffing a beautiful hollowed out tomato? Or maybe on crackers or pita chips? The possibilities are endless with this versatile Tuna Salad.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “It’s Lunchtime, Tuna Sammies

  1. Mrs Beans April 9, 2014 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Yum!!! All kinds of good stuff in there! That looks like some kind of ono grindz there!

    I love making my kitchen sink tuna sandwich. I haven’t done that in awhile but it’s a favorite.

    • auntiedoni April 9, 2014 at 4:44 pm Reply

      We try it eat some type of fish at least three times a week. Granted, it’s usually frozen or canned, not like back home, fresh fish all the time. Now we have to take fish oil capsules since moving here to the ‘mainland’, doctor’s orders. O_o

  2. […] If you’ve been following along for awhile now, you’ll remember my post about Tuna Sandwiches. […]

Leave a Reply

