Seafood Pasta Supper

We love seafood, well, you know being from Hawaii. Now that we live in the middle of the desert, it’s a little difficult to find anything fresh. While out shopping the other day, I spied frozen Green lip Mussels from New Zealand, my husband’s favorite, and Jumbo Shrimp, mmm…

seafood pasta dinner

I can’t eat Mussels and my husband can’t eat Shrimp, so I made two different dishes for our supper last night.

Mussels Marinara with Rigatoni

My Husband’s plate of Rigatoni and Mussels Marinara

The Mussels Marinara is a super easy dish to make.

Simply wash the mollusks, remove them from the shell and be sure to get any beards. Next, throw the meat of the Mussels into a pot with just a splash of white wine or water, cover and steam gently until barely cooked through, about 3-6 minutes, depending on their size. Drain well; toss in your favorite sauce (I already talked about my Marinara that I canned and have at the ready at all times) and heat. Serve over your choice of pasta, maybe some polenta or straight up.

My bowl, Shrimp Scampi-style with orecchiette and lots of fresh Italian Parsley

My bowl, Shrimp Scampi-style with orecchiette and lots of fresh Italian Parsley

For the Shrimps, I made them Scampi-style, one of my favs.

Again, very simple.

In a medium sized pan, melt equal amounts of butter and olive oil (I used about 2 tablespoons of each, I like a lot of sauce to dip my bread in) on a low heat. Add in as much minced garlic as you like (I put in 4 LARGE cloves). Just before the garlic starts to color, add in the cleaned shrimps; as soon as you see some pink on the crustaceans, turn and add in your el dente pasta (I used orecchiette) and a splash of white wine along with as much chopped flat leaf parsley as you wish. Finish sautéing for about another minute or so, until the Shrimp is just done.

It’s a nice touch just before you place the bowl in front of your guest to sprinkle with more chopped fresh parsley and Parmesan (I shaved the cheese this time for effect).   A slice or two of a good quality bread, a glass of wine and I’m very happy.

MANGIAMO!

*Note: If you can find the New Zealand Green lipped Mussels, do try them.  They are so much larger and very plump and juicy, much better.  You can usually find them in the freezer case on the half shell, par steamed.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Seafood Pasta Supper

  1. ChickenMom April 11, 2014 at 4:12 pm Reply

    Looks delish! I stopped eating mussels when I found a baby crab inside of one a few years ago….YIKES!!!!! Talk about freak out 😉

    • auntiedoni April 11, 2014 at 4:22 pm Reply

      RIGHT?! Same thing happened to us, but since being on a diet, I mean looking at food differently, poor Michael hasn’t had this in quite sometime… 😀 He was very happy too.

Leave a Reply

