In Our Recent Travels

I know that I haven’t been around for awhile, but we’ve been traveling again. It’s been a crazy, chaotic, frustrating, painful, frantic, GREAT TIME! So much has happened, but I wanted to post first about the one thing, well one of a couple of things truth be told, that made me the happiest.

My husband and I helped my Mother move back to her hometown of Reedley California. As a kid, Mom took us kids back there for our summer vacations, several times. A very fond memory that I have is going over to Hanford, to the Superior Dairy and having fresh Peach Ice Cream, all the while sitting at the lunch counter with pink leather swivel stools.

Well, I got to relive that memory with my Mother and husband. It was just as it was those many years ago as we walked in. We opted for a booth on this visit, also done up in pink leather.

Fresh Peach Ice Cream @ Superior Dairy in Hanford California

This is a SINGLE SCOOP! Mom and I shared it.

My husband wasn’t sure about ordering Peach Ice Cream, if it would be any good or if this was simply a distance memory we both had.

Chocolate Ice Cream @ Superior Dairy in Hanford California

He decided on chocolate instead.

Do I need to tell you that he wound up eating a goodly portion of our dish?

2 thoughts on “In Our Recent Travels

  1. floursugareggsandbutter June 24, 2014 at 8:42 am Reply

    Both the flavors look great (have not met a flavor of ice cream that I would turn down lol) but I want to reach thru the screen and grab that dish of peach… beautiful color!
    Starting to see some decent peaches in the Texas markets and going tomorrow to snag a few lbs to “put up” in the freezer.
    Don’t worry will bring home plenty to enjoy right now!

    • auntiedoni June 24, 2014 at 1:09 pm Reply

      Since my Mother now lives only a short drive from Superior Dairy, she was teasing me just the other day that her friend had taken her over there for more ice cream, “you know dear, you could always come back out here and go with us”. 🙂 Next time Mom. AND the Peaches! Oh my, dead ripe off the trees, MAN! We just finished our flat of stone fruits that we brought back with us.

Leave a Reply

