Boomer Cake aka Prune Cake

boomer cake by joey

This cake is courtesy of my chefy-gal-pal Joey in Colorado. Both Joey and I are of the Baby Boomer Generation.  The back story to this cake is that every once in awhile, everyone needs a little “help” , especially as we get older.  This cake is a tasty way to get things moving along.  *wink*  I asked her if it would be okay if I shared this with the class, and she was cool, so here it is.

 Boomer Cake aka Prune Cake

2 C. Flour

1 tsp. Baking Soda

¼ tsp. Salt

1 Tbsp. Ground Nutmeg

1Tbsp. Ground Allspice

1 Tbsp. Ground Cinnamon

Dash of Chinese 5 Spice

1 ½ C. Sugar

½ C. Corn Oil

½ C. Olive Oil

3 Eggs

1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

1 C. Buttermilk

2 Tbsp. Triple Sec

1 ½ C. pitted Prunes, plumped and chopped

1 C. chopped Walnuts

Buttermilk Glaze:

1 C. Sugar

½ C. Buttermilk

¼ C. Butter

2 Tbsp. Honey

½ tsp. Baking Soda

½ tsp. Vanilla Extract

Whipped cream, optional

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt and spices. Beat together sugar and oils. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir vanilla. Add sifted dry ingredients to sugar mixture alternately with buttermilk, a third at a time, blending well. Stir in prunes and nuts. Pour into a buttered springform pan. Bake in preheated 350⁰ oven 1 hour.

Fifteen minutes before cake is finished baking prepare glaze. In 3-quart saucepan over medium heat combine all glaze ingredients. Bring to a full boil, stirring frequently. Boil 10 minutes or until sugar dissolves. Remove cake from the oven once done and gently loosen side of springform pan. Pour glaze over hot cake. Let stand in the pan overnight. Serve with whipped cream if desired.

prune cake by joey

*Tip from the chef-

All of the glaze may not get absorbed by the cake, that’s okay.  When serving, spoon that yumminess over each slice as a sauce.

A~MAZ~ING!

 

oops-edit- I totally am losing my mind now, I forgot to title this post …

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Boomer Cake aka Prune Cake

  1. floursugareggsandbutter June 24, 2014 at 8:34 am Reply

    I can totally attest to the awesomeness of this recipe!
    Easy to follow and best of all every one of the ingredients are on my pantry par list.
    Dense and moist and spicy with the crunch of walnuts (I pre toasted mine) you will not be disappointed.
    Do not let the amt of the spices alarm you ( I actually added a good tsp of ginger just because I love it).
    Prunes are kinda bland and will absorb a lot of spice, with the result being a yummy balanced cake that tastes great (every bite from start to hey who took my cake lolol 😉

    • auntiedoni June 24, 2014 at 1:03 pm Reply

      I’m going to the market today to get some buttermilk, not a pantry staple for me… but I am going to bake this cake sometime this week and share it with our neighbors. That’s a honkin’ big cake for just two people, oh, that’s why those folks smile when they see me comin’ 😀
      Mahalos Grace for stopin’ by 😉

  2. Joey June 25, 2014 at 2:03 pm Reply

    Thanks Doni for the nod….despite the visual flaw of the sunken middle, the flavor and moistness of this cake is flawless!

    • auntiedoni June 25, 2014 at 4:21 pm Reply

      I can’t wait to try this cake!

  3. […] have been just dying to try this recipe from my DF Chef […]

  4. […] making by chefy pal Joey’s Boomer Cake, I had some buttermilk left that I didn’t want to waste. […]

Leave a Reply

