Chocolate Buttermilk Pie, Oh My!

I had never even heard of Buttermilk Pie until we took Our Great Western Adventure back last September …

Our Great Western Adventure Chocolate Buttermilk Pie @ Bubba's Bar-B-Que in Cody Wyoming

… and had a slice of this divine dessert in Cody Wyoming at Bubba’s Bar-B-Que, OH MY GAWD!

After making by chefy pal Joey’s Boomer Cake, I had some buttermilk left that I didn’t want to waste. DING!

I went-a-lookin’ on the World Wide Web for a recipe and I found a boat load. But, I wanted something that would be as close as possible to my first experience. I found a recipe that sounded like it would please both my husband (“I don’t like chocolate pie, I don’t like anything sour … ” please insert whinny little boy here *wink*) and myself at The Pinter Test Kitchen.

My best pie crust yet

The difference in my interpretation was that I made my own pie dough from scratch, following my girl Martha’s recipe. I NAILED IT! That is the most beautiful crust I’ve ever made, thanks Martha.

This pie will puff up in the middle and then as it cools, it will sink a bit and crack, that’s okay.

This is really rich pie

The agony was finally over, let’s dig in! This pie is so nice and chocolatey-gooey-yummy, it’s just, just… AH! Sigh

The only problem was that we liked it so much that it was gone before we knew it.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

