Meyer Lemons Are Still Available!

I couldn’t believe it, but up until a couple of weeks ago, I could still find Meyer Lemons at my Green Grocer. Granted the price had gone up from $1.99 per pound, but for my Mother who is crazy for them, I think that it was worth it.

This time around I made for her …

 

Auntie Doni’s Sugarfree Meyer Lemon Jelly 

2 C. Meyer Lemon juice (that’s about a pound of fruit), strained of most pulp and seeds

84 packets of Splenda or 3 ½ C. Splenda Granulated Sweetener

½ package of Sure-Jell No-Sugar Pectin (it’s the pink box)

 

**Prepare 5 four ounce mason jars for canning (see below)

Mix together 2 tablespoons of the Splenda to the pectin with 6 tablespoons of water, set aside.

Bring the Juice to a hard boil (it needs to remain boiling as stirred) in a large pot; add the sweetener/pectin mixture while stirring, cook for 1 minute.

Remove from the heat; add the remaining Splenda, stir in well.

Immediately fill each jar leaving ¼ inch head room.

Wipe the rims and threads of each jar with a damp cloth; apply the lids with rings to finger tight.

***Process the jars in a rolling boil water bath for 10 minutes (we live over 3000 feet above Sea Level, so I boil them for 15 minutes; see below for more info).

Remove the jars carefully from the boiling water, set aside on a cutting board covered in kitchen towels. Do not disturb for 24 hours.

Wipe off the jars and label as desired. It’s best to put the jelly in the cupboard for two weeks prior to consuming; this gives the pectin time to do its job. This is not a tight jelly, it’s looser than you may like, so you might want to increase the amount of pectin by a couple of tablespoons.

Improvised Home Canning Kit

Cook’s Note: My chef-y-pal Joey asked me in the past how I ‘can’ different foods. Well, here you are. Nothing fancy here, I use what I have on hand. I think that this stockpot is a 12qt. size, but it does fine for the smaller Mason jars, what I mean is Pintsize and smaller, I don’t use quart sized jars for just the two of use.

In the past, I made my own Canning Rack by making tin foil snakes into a circle and placing that on the bottom of the pot. I finally broke down and bought one, along with a Jar Lifter. I was using a set of thongs wrapped with multiple rubber bands as a Jar Lifter the first few batches. You can buy home canning kits at many stores; even the hardware stores carry them. But if you are just starting out and are not sure if this for you, improvise.

**Prep You Jars For Home Canning

***Water Bath Home Canning

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Meyer Lemons Are Still Available!

  1. floursugareggsandbutter August 16, 2014 at 4:25 am Reply

    Great recipe Doni !
    It has been printed and pinned (the old fashioned way lol) to my must try board.
    Do you have any recipes that you use this jelly in?
    Specifically a curd maybe?
    OBTW I think the DIY tools are very smart !

  2. floursugareggsandbutter August 17, 2014 at 5:27 am Reply

    Our bush is loaded up with about a zillion hard green fruits.
    Will be another banner year for the Meyers!
    Usually ready by Thanksgiving.
    Maybe a shipment per FedEx will be looking for your address this year ;-0

Leave a Reply

