The Best Apple Cake I’ve Ever Had!

No, really.  Our Niece-in-law sent me this recipe and photo of her finished product.  I figured, Hmmm, I have all of these ingredients, I could make this today.  The original recipe came from my SIL, I gave it a couple of tweaks; I’m thinking that a good shot (or two) of Brandy, Apple Jack or Bourbon would be excellent in this cake Pat!

The Best Apple Cake I've Ever Had!

The Best Apple Cake I’ve Ever Had!

1 ½ C. Canola Oil (or Safflower any neutral oil)

3 Eggs

2 C. Sugar

2 tsp. Vanilla

3 C. All Purpose Flour

1 tsp. Cinnamon

1 ½ tsp. Baking Soda

1 tsp. Salt

1 C. Chopped Nuts (I used Pecans)

1 C. Shredded Sweetened Coconut

3 C. Diced Apples, peeled and cored (I used Organic Fuji Apples)

 

Put everything except the last three ingredients into the bowl of Stand Mixer, beat well.

Add the remaining ingredients and mix until just incorporated.

Pour into a greased and floured tube pan (I used Pam® Baking Spray and a Bundt pan).

Bake in a pre-heated oven at 350⁰ for 1 ½ hours.

 

Icing:

1 C. Light Brown Sugar

½ C. Butter (1 stick)

¼ C. Milk
Boil the Icing ingredients 2 ½ min. Pour over the cake while it’s hot, in the pan.  You might need to ‘help’ the icing pour down between the cake and the pan with a bamboo skewer or plastic knife.  Cool for about half an hour; run a plastic knife around the pan to loosen the cake and turn out on to a cooling rack.  You may have to redistribute the icing over the cake.

 

This is a Husband Approved Cake.

MMM, The Best Apple Cake

ENJOY!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Best Apple Cake I’ve Ever Had!

  1. Sharon Daugherty May 8, 2016 at 7:21 pm Reply

    I’d love to bake this cake but my husband doesn’t like coconut. I wonder what I could add in place of the coconut? If I just left the coconut out and didn’t add a substitution I wonder how the cake would turn out. Thanks

    • auntiedoni May 8, 2016 at 8:40 pm Reply

      Aloha Sharon, mahalo, thanks for stopping by. I think that if you left the coconut out, it wouldn’t hurt the cake at all. This is a super cake, the texture, taste, really good. Do give it a try sans the coconut and report back, okay?

Leave a Reply

