South Philly Cheesesteaks In The Middle Of The Desert

You heard right friends.  When DH and I first moved here, we went hunting for places to eat; seeing as my husband is originally from the Philadelphia area, we look for such establishments.  We found Frankie’s South Philly Cheesesteaks right off, I can’t remember the details now, but it was an authentic Cheesesteak on an Amoroso roll!  It seems that Frankie and Deb Santos have the rolls shipped in daily from Philadelphia.  Frankie’s isn’t actually close by, it’s about a good 45 minute drive into town, which we don’t do very often.

This past weekend, my wonderful husband took me into town to buy me new walking shoes (we walk everyday so that we can eat all of these delicious foods) and what did I spy but Frankie’s along the way.  Let’s stop for lunch.

For myself, a six inch Cheesesteak with a small drink and fries.  DH ordered a 12 inch Cheesesteak Hoagie with hot peppers, too hot for me thanks.

Amoroso's rolls

But hey wait a minute, did you say that you now sell the rolls too Frankie? OKAY!  I bought a half dozen 12 inch rolls, frozen, PERFECT.  I keep a cold bag in the car, just in case, thank goodness.

Can you say Meatball sandwich?  Or how about an Italian Hoagie, or Taylor Ham sandwich or Peppers and Eggs sandwich… I could go on but I’ll stop now.

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “South Philly Cheesesteaks In The Middle Of The Desert

  1. Mrs Beans November 11, 2014 at 7:14 pm Reply

    OH!!! Those look good and man that bread looks good. Good bread almost makes the whole sandwich.

    • auntiedoni November 11, 2014 at 7:47 pm Reply

      Well said, the bread makes a sandwich for sure!

Leave a Reply

