Pineapples From Where?

The other day I took my bi-monthly trip to my favorite Green Grocer.  As I walked around the store deciding what all I wanted to buy, I could smell something familiar.  I turned a corner and there it was.

Gorgeous Pineapples

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pineapples

Pineapples from where?

But they’re from where?  “Product or Costa Rica/Mexico”.  It’s the Del Monte Gold Pineapple, really delicious; they cost how much?  $2.99 EACH!!!  WHAT?!

Very little Pineapple is still grown in Hawaii any longer, mainly due to the value of land.  Del Monte left the Pineapple business in Hawaii back in 2008, leaving only 2% of the World’s Pineapple production to Maui Land and Pine and Dole.  You can still take a box of Pineapples home to the Mainland (2-3 Pineapples per 10 pound box) for about $24.00.  Not exactly cheap, but at least you can enjoy a little piece of Aloha long after your vacation.  When we still lived in Kaneohe and would go to visit relatives on the mainland, I would order a box shipped ahead of us to our host family.  They were gobbled up in no time flat.

A HUI HOU! (Until we meet)

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pineapples From Where?

  1. Mrs Beans November 28, 2014 at 9:31 am Reply

    Going to the pineapple factory on a field trip back in the day was the best.

    • auntiedoni November 28, 2014 at 9:49 am Reply

      Funny, I never went there until DH and I went home 3 years ago. What a fun place!

Leave a Reply

