HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Yeah, yeah I know, I’m a little behind the curve, but we’ve been awfully busy.

love deviled eggs

We went over to one of our neighbor’s for a lovely New Year’s Eve party; there must have been over a hundred people there!  I decided to make a large tray (I find terrific trays at the Dollar Stores, that way you don’t need to worry about whether or not you get yours back) of Deviled Eggs to take over and I wish I made more… I only got one before they were GONE!  I made three different flavors: Wasabi in the middle there, plain with only mayo and a pinch of smoked Paprika on top and the outer ring of eggs is how I like them, mayo, mustard, dill pickle relish and dried dill weed… oh, all of the cooked yolks started out in a large bowl, mashed with S&P and then morphed from there.

It started to snow about 10 o’clock at night; so I stayed up until about 2am when it stopped and was very happy, wet and cold from standing out in it.  Heh, I’m just a little Hawaiian gal who has not seen many snow days in her life, so yeah, I was pretty giddy, I mean come on, what better time to snow then on New Year’s Eve, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Dear dear husband woke me up at about 7am New Year’s Day (he faded out about 9:30, didn’t make it to midnight) to the exclamations of “Look, Look”, it was beautiful!  I got bundled up and went out to walk around in it for awhile before making our first breakfast of 2015.

New Year's Day breakfast, Fritatta

Frittata with sweet Italian Sausage, small diced Fontinella cheese (which is very similar to Fontina, but cheaper), Multi-colored mini sweet bell peppers, Onions, Garlic and grated Grana Padano cheese in as well as on the lot of it.  MMM!

MUST_HAVE_NOODLES!

MUST_HAVE_NOODLES!

I MUST have noodles for New Year’s, that’s for long life.  I made these up a day before and had them stashed and ready to re-heat.  One must be gently with the long noodles, broken ones are bad luck.  Lunch is served.

Somehow, I’m not sure how, but Standing Rib Roast of Beef is what you eat for dinner on New Year’s Day.  You know what?  I’ve never made it myself.  I was in a panic, I wanted our special dinner to come out as nice as the Rib Roasts others have made for us (that’s you Mary Elizabeth).  But, I took a deep breath, told myself you can do this and went for it!

I put my Sea Salt and Black Pepper in Soy dishes for prepping

I put my Sea Salt and Black Pepper in Soy dishes for prepping

I found this lovely hunk-o-goodness at the butcher.  He had these massive 6-10 bone roasts for sale at a relatively inexpensive price.  What do we need with something that big?  I convinced him to whack me off a single bone, lop off the bone and truss that baby together.

I came to the conclusion by searching the Internet extensively, that seasoning with copious amounts of course Sea Salt and Black Pepper was the way to start out.

Next, I heated my cast iron skillet to screaming hot, added a touch a Canola Oil and seared all possible surfaces of our soon to be supper.

very cool rack on a 1/4 sheet pan

I found this really cool rack, can’t remember where, all I know is that I got it here on the mainland.  This works great on a sheet pan to evenly roasting any piece of meat.

beautiful!

In another quarter sheet pan, I roasted some Yukon Gold potatoes and Haricots verts.

Standing rib roast, Yukon gold baked potatoes and Haricorts vert

LET’S EAT!

But wait!  You need a sweet.  I cheated a bit and bought Trader Joe’s Chocolate Ganache Torte and topped it with fresh whipped cream spiked with Kahlua.

I wish you and yours a happy, healthy and
prosperous New Year.

ALOHA!

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  1. […] you all know, I come from Hawaii, and one of our New Year traditions is to eat noodles for good luck.  So, I made up a batch of my Fried Saimin, as I usually do, and […]

Leave a Reply

