Homemade Italian Bread, MMM!

Over the past year, DH and I have taken a break from our diet, I mean different way of looking at food, as you can tell by some the posts that came from My Kitchen In The Middle Of The Desert.  It’s been a blast, but all good things must come to an end, and what better way to go out than by making some delicious homemade bread, Italian Bread to boot!  I haven’t made this is years.

Bernard Clayton's New Complete Book of Breads - Revised and Expanded

I’ve owned this cookbook, Bernard Clayton’s New Complete Book of Breads – Revised and Expanded  for many years and have actually only made one recipe, Pain Italien.

 

The recipe calls for a half cup of non-fat dry milk.  When I went looking for this ingredient, I found a package that will make up to one quart of milk, once reconstituted with water.  This made sense to me to buy the packet versus a big container of dried milk.  Just then, a bell went off in my head.  A couple of weeks ago our dear Niece-In-Law, Mary Elizabeth, called me to ask what she could use as a substitute for milk in a recipe and all I could think of was water and maybe add a little fat.  Some families cannot tolerate dairy products, other than if cooked/baked, and therefore don’t have milk in the house … DING!  This would solve that issue.  I’m keeping my envelope of leftover dried milk in the `fridge until I need it again.

malt syrup

Another ingredient that you may have a challenge finding is Malt Syrup.  I found this finally at Whole Foods.  Don’t skip over this and use something else, it gives the bread a gorgeous flavor.

This took me just about all day to make.  There are three risings of the dough, so this is a recipe that you may want to try when you’re stuck at home with nothing to do.  I’m not going to give you the entire recipe, mostly because it is so long and is under copyright, but I did see there are some folks that have posted it on the Internet, if you do feel so inclined.

This is the most heavenly smelling bread that I have ever made and the taste is out of this world.  DH asked me to make more and stash it in the deep freeze until we’re done with our different way of looking at food.

ENJOY!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

