Grocery Shopping In Honolulu

Before you decide that you want to live full time the 50th State, think about what it’s going to cost you to eat.  When we lived in Kaneohe, I would just cringe every time I went shopping for food.

On our first expedition while on our month long stay back home, we sought out Walmart.  Now I know some folks are dead set against that brand, but when you can save a buck here and a few coins there, you do it.

Fresh eggs in Honolulu, FROM ARIZONA!

Here’s what floored me on this trip, EGGS!  Most fresh eggs are shipped in from the mainland.  Can you see the farm name?  Hickman’s Family Farm, and do you know where that is?  ARIZONA!  YEP!

You can find all sorts of treats in the supermarkets, like one of my favorite candies, Sesame Seed Candy, MMM!  Usually these goodies are made with peanuts, but these are the bomb-diggity  with Macadamia nuts.  Note to self: need to figure out how to makes these.  They’re ooey-gooey-chewy (watch your dental work) with that crunch from the sesame seeds and nuts.  AND, can you see where these are made?  My hometown.

Some other finds that I can’t get in the middle of the desert:  Miko brand Scottish Bangers, Diamond Bakery Crackers and Cookies and Hinode Rice (no meal is complete without rice in Hawaii).  I must admit, in less  than 3 weeks, we blew through that 5 pound bag of rice.

ALOHA!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping In Honolulu

  1. The Chicken Hugger June 16, 2015 at 8:59 am Reply

    EWWWW, white eggs from Hickmans. Saw a “Dirty Jobs” segment on them…they have 1 MILLION chickens crammed into terribly small spaces down in Phoenix area (hot as hell). We have GOT to stop supporting the inhumane egg farming business and support small local poultry farms. Some things you just HAVE to pay more for. And they are so much better for you 🙂 *off my box*

    • auntiedoni June 16, 2015 at 9:08 am Reply

      Yup, Hickman’s eggs… didn’t have too much of a choice in Hawaii as more than 90% of goods, that is in EVERYTHING, is shipped in, even eggs. Here in the middle of the desert, I get fresh eggs locally OR if I’m really lucky, from my dear friend, THE CHICKEN HUGGER!!! 😉 love ya Holly!

    • auntiedoni June 16, 2015 at 9:18 am Reply

      HEH! Hold on there a minute! I’ve got a Crazy Dog Lady, Chicken Lady, Chicken Mom, Crazy Chicken Lady, and the one that makes me giggle, The Bad Wife… you got some `splainin to do Lucy! 😀

  2. Mrs Beans June 16, 2015 at 4:49 pm Reply

    I remember when I was there that the milk was $7 a gallon and came from Oklahoma. Nuts.

    • auntiedoni June 16, 2015 at 5:04 pm Reply

      Mrs Beans long time no see my sista, mahalos for stopping by.
      You know, when we went to Foodland, they only have mainland milk now, and it was $4.xx for a HALF GALLON! We shopped alot at the old HolidayMart Kaheka, fun place, even DH liked going there and he detests food shopping. AHEM, maybe `cuz they had Poke Bowls for him to snack on as we shopped. 🙄

  3. Wendy, big island June 16, 2015 at 6:04 pm Reply

    Hahaha.I have had to adjust my food spending for cost of living here on the Big Island. I totally understand the Walmart shopping!!

    • auntiedoni June 16, 2015 at 6:21 pm Reply

      Yup, you got that right Wendy. I think folks on the ‘mainland’ don’t know that it costs

        MORE

      to live on the outer islands. But you guys have WAY more AG land then Oahu. I know my own relatives on Hawaii Island as well as on Kauai do alot of fishing, diving and farming to help out that food budget.

    • auntiedoni June 16, 2015 at 6:22 pm Reply

      … and can I get a like too? 😄

  4. Carnivore Confidential June 25, 2015 at 11:03 am Reply

    My parents divorced when I was young, and my Mom (in a effort to put MANY miles between her and my abusive Dad) moved the city of Whitehorse, in the Yukon Territory of Northern Canada … Alaska’s closest neighbour. I only mention this because, I feel your pain.
    The first time I visited my Mom there … I was SHOCKED at the prices of EVERYTHING !!!
    EVERYTHING on the shelves up there (Alaska as well) is shipped in from the lower 48 and is RIDICULOUSLY expensive …

Leave a Reply

