Beef Roulade

I was watching some cooking program on TV, but I can’t remember which one.  Anyway, the chef made a Beef Roulade and I forgot to print out the recipe, so I winged it.

Beef Roulade

I had a one pound piece of Flank Steak defrosted already and was at a crossroads as to what to do with it, so  I put down a large piece of plastic wrap, grabbed my wooden French Rolling Pin and pounded it out to an even thickness.  For the filling I layered steamed and cooled spinach that had been squeezed dry, roasted Red Bell Pepper strips and crumbled Feta Cheese.  Oh yeah, don’t forget to salt and pepper the meat prior to the stuffing.

Tied Beef Roulade

Get yourself some kitchen twine cut into long enough pieces to tie up your roast, plus extra for good measure.  Roll the meat away from you as tightly as you can, tucking any stray bits back into the roll as you go.  I slide the first string under the roast and tie it off at the middle and then work my way out from the middle with the rest of the twine.

Bread-Horseradish Crust Mixture

For the crust of the roast, combine about a cup of Bread Crumbs (I use fresh), chopped fresh Italian Parsley, S&P as well as prepared Horseradish to taste.  Moisten everything with just enough Olive Oil to hold the mixture together.

My makeshift 'rack'

I do not own a rack small enough to fit a quarter sheet pan, so I improvise with celery ribs or thick sliced onion rounds.

Beef Roulade ready for the oven

Coat the roast with the bread mixture, pressing it into the meat.  Place on your “rack” and roast in a preheated oven at 425⁰ for 25-45 minutes until the crust is golden and a thermometer reads 135⁰.

Beef Roulade just out of the oven

The timing will depend on how large a piece of beef you use.  Oh and I thought about it and lined the pan with tin foil to save on clean up.

Hmm, I did get that a little over done, but DH likes his Beef "DONE"

Hmm, I did get that a little over done, but DH likes his Beef “DONE”

Allow to cool about 5-10 minutes, slice

Beef Roulade dinner

And serve.

ENJOY!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

