Pumpkin Pie For Thanksgiving

I love Pumpkin Pie but my husband does not.  So for years now, I have not made my own, but instead bought small, single serve Pumpkin Pies in the market, ACK!  Not that good, sorry guys.

This Thanksgiving we spent with Mr. & Mrs. DF’s in Northern Arizona, who were gracious enough to host the entire dinner!  I asked Missus, what can I contribute?  “How about the pies and some wine?” DONE!

Apple (we’ll talk more about that on the next episode) and Pumpkin, both Thanksgiving favorites.  Oh my, I haven’t made Pumpkin Pie in forever!  So I searched the Internet and polled fellow foodies, which recipe to go with.  I settled on Libby’s® Famous Pumpkin Pie and Martha Stewart’s Pâte Brisée for the crust.

WINNER!

my pumpkin pie cracked!

While the pie was cooling though, IT CRACKED! ARGH!  My chefy friends told me that I baked it a little too long, oh well, I’m sure that it’ll taste wonderful.

Both the filling and the crust came out perfect.  The combination of warm spices were NOTHING you would get from a store bought pie.  And that crust, OH MY GRAVY ALL OVER MY TWO SCOOPS RICE (that’s OMG! in my world)!!

my husband's piece of pie

I even got my husband, who CLAIMS  to dislike Pumpkin Pie (“It’s creamy, I don’t like that” … please insert whinny 10 year old boy’s voice here) to try just a small piece, “we’ll put some whipped cream on it too”, he actually LIKED IT!

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie For Thanksgiving

  1. Coralia December 3, 2015 at 10:30 am Reply

    This looks delicious! I want to try and make this 🙂
    I also wanted to let you know that I changed my blog to an actual url. You can know get recipes from http://www.adventureandfood.com
    Keep up the good work and please share all the lovely recipes with us.

    • auntiedoni December 3, 2015 at 10:35 am Reply

      Thanks Cora, I’ll make that change in my “Follow” que.

  2. Krystle December 3, 2015 at 10:31 am Reply

    Ono!!

    • auntiedoni December 3, 2015 at 10:36 am Reply

      It was VERY ONO! (dang, there’s no lip-smacking emoji) 😛

Leave a Reply

