I Made My Very First Cheesecake

For some reason, I’ve never made a Cheesecake before; that’s probably because I’ve never owned a Springform pan before.  I bought one last year at a discount kitchen store, I don’t remember why or what I made with it, but obviously it wasn’t a memorable dish.  I saw it sitting there, all lonely like out in my garage with the other “oddly shaped-hard to store” kitchen toys that I have.  And it hit me, I should try it!

NOW!  DH is not a fan of anything sour, tangy as he says, such as sour cream or cream cheese … you get the idea.  Cheesecake is a dessert that he does not order, but likes to take bites from mine when we go out to eat.  So I searched the Internet and wasn’t sure which recipe to follow; then I was watching a Martha Stewart TV program and what did she make, but New York Style Cheesecake.  I trust Martha, so here goes nothing.

First off, that’s WAY too much batter Martha!  Even though her recipe calls for a 10 inch pan and mine is 9 inches… HMMM

My Cheesecake CRACKED!

Secondly, Martha said that if I bake my Cheesecake in a Bain Marie or a Water Bath, it won’t crack.

YEAH RIGHT!

Can you see that it cracked almost the entire way around the top?!  GEEZ!  Oh well, I’ll bet it tastes good.

I have enough filling for another Cheesecake

And about that filling recipe calling for 7, yes I said SEVEN eight ounce packages of Cream Cheese, WOW!  I have enough batter to make another cake.

But come on man!  Look at that wouldja!?  I mean, COME ON!  That is CRAZY good Cheesecake.  I think that IF  I ever make another Cheesecake, I’ll use Martha’s recipe; I’ll only make half…

ENJOY!

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “I Made My Very First Cheesecake

  1. thehomemakerslife December 22, 2015 at 4:58 pm Reply

    Bravo!

  2. Cherie (PumpkinPieandMe) December 23, 2015 at 1:28 pm Reply

    Looks amazing!

    • auntiedoni December 23, 2015 at 2:06 pm Reply

      It was nerve racking! But I grabbed ahold of my boot straps and got it done. In fact, I’m making the other half of that batter as I type. 😀

      • Cherie (PumpkinPieandMe) December 23, 2015 at 2:19 pm

        Cheesecake is my husband and my older sons favourite so I make cheesecake a lot. And mine cracks all the time, so I just cover it in ganache.

      • auntiedoni December 23, 2015 at 3:53 pm

        ARRRGH! The second cake did the same thing, cracked all the way around the outside… oh well, I agree with you Cherie, I’m going to make a Dark Chocolate Ganache and some Caramel Sauce and create a Turtle Cheesecake to take over to our neighbors for New Year’s Eve Cocktail Party.

  3. […] that first Cheesecake that I’d ever made; that made WAY too much batter?  Well… I saved that extra batter and made […]

Leave a Reply

