Our New Year’s Day Feast

Fried Saimin

Okay, so in my last post, I was telling you about how we eat noodles for good luck on New Year’s; here’s what else we had with our noodles.

NYD Sushi platter

I’ve got this thing for I don’t know how many years now, that we have a sushi platter on New Years.  Now that we live in the middle of the desert, I’ve had to learn how to make this; pretty good, huh?

Limu Ahi Poke Bowl

Limu Ahi Poke bowl, yes again.  My favorite place to buy fresh fish, still had fresh Ahi Tuna on sale for $8.99 per pound, so I figured, why not.  This is simple, make the Poke of your choice and serve it over hot steamed rice.

Chicken Katsu

Chicken Katsu, MMM!  This dish is a snap, think Fried Chicken, but with a twist.  Just pound out a boneless/skinless Chicken Thigh, or Breast, thin; dredge it in Mochiko or Rice Flour, dip in an egg wash and then roll it in Panko Bread Crumbs.  I like to press the Panko into the flesh firmly and leave to rest a few minutes on a rack.  Then just shallow fry the meat until GBD, golden brown and delicious!  Cool on a rack and slice; serve warm or at room temperature.

Noodle Plate

Look at that beautiful crust, Come on man!

YUM!

Cheers!

I wish everyone a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year,

E Hauoli Makahiki hou!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

