Snacks To Go

My husband and I went to Costco the other day, and this caught my eye.

I found these at Costco

I’m still trying to figure out why this bugs me.  There are three readymade snack-packs, the cost is about $6 USD, for that busy who-ever.  This must be targeted towards that person who just can’t find the time to go to the market, buy a couple of healthful snack items and put it all together for the next day or week even.  Isn’t that why you can now find snack sized zip top baggies, so that we can make up our own food-to-go?

But wait, there was more!

I found this at Costco as well

I must have seen 4 different types of premade stuff, all for what I thought anyways, was expensive.  I know that there is a market for this type of product, but I am having the hardest time wrapping my head around this.

This trend first started a while back for the kids, Lunchables®, and now I see that you can even get a snack subscription mailed to you.  You can get five snack bags for $19.95 USD … I’m in the wrong business!

Thank you for indulging me, I’ll get off my soap box now.

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “Snacks To Go

  1. koolaidmoms February 11, 2016 at 12:50 pm Reply

    I agree with you! The food is usually more processed even with the “healthy” tag on it, filled with preservatives and so expensive. If you are single or have a high paying job where the 5 minutes to make a weeks worth of snacks or the 15 minutes to make a meal is too much I kind of understand the thought process but it is so much easier and better tasting if you put the meals together yourself.

    • auntiedoni February 11, 2016 at 1:09 pm Reply

      RIGHT Marci?! I have thought about this topic for quite some time and it just still baffles me.
      I’ll say it again, I am in the WRONG business! I really should get my Personal Chef Certificate and license! I could make some money! 🙂

  2. Crazychickenlady February 11, 2016 at 1:52 pm Reply

    with all due respect, not everyone has the free time to do all that! I would buy those in a heartbeat if it meant I was going to eat something healthy instead of grabbing a bag of chips 😉 I’m willing to pay for convenience when it comes to this sort of thing as many others are!!! Now shopping at Costco? That’s a BIG no-no for me ❤ To each his own.

  3. Crazychickenlady February 11, 2016 at 2:35 pm Reply

    …and here’s something else to think about (representin’ the working girls) By the time you would buy a box of crackers, ingredients to make homemade hummus (tahini is pricey!), a box of crackers, chicken, a bag of carrots and whatever else it in that little tray you would spend well over $25. And let’s face it, you could probably make 6 or so but would they get eaten before spoiling? Maybe if you had 5 kids or something.
    So, $6 seems like a good deal to someone like me. When are you signing up for that license thing? What’s involved? Do you REALLY want to work that hard sista???? I’ve been telling you for YEARS it’s a great idea.

    • auntiedoni February 11, 2016 at 3:01 pm Reply

      All good points Holly, but of course this blog post does represent my own views; I should have prefaced my “rant” 😉
      As far as becoming a Personal Chef, we’ll have to see about that. Maybe I can make enough money to pay for our new house 🙂

Leave a Reply

