Easter Grindz

About three days before Easter, my husband asked me, “Are you making Easter Bread like my Dad did?”

Uh, no.  I don’t have that recipe, unfortunately I never got to meet my Mother or Father-in-law; they both had passed away before my husband and I found each other later in life.

Yeah sure, I could look the recipe up on the WWW, but that wouldn’t be the same as what my FIL would have made.  So instead, I made Frittata in the “style of my in-laws”.

It’s not really a recipe, but something that I throw together.

My Frittata

8 Eggs

2 Tbsp. Cream or Half and Half, whatever you put in your coffee

2 pinches of Kosher Salt

Freshly ground Black Pepper to taste

3 Tbsp. Parmesan Cheese, grated and divided

1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

2 Tbsp. Ricotta Cheese

2 Tbsp. Mozzarella Cheese, shredded

Preheat the oven to 350⁰.

In a bowl, beat together the first 5 ingredients.

Heat an 8 inch non-stick oven proof pan with Olive Oil over medium low heat.

Add in your choice of goodies:

Italian Sausage

Breakfast Sausage

Bacon

Ham

Pancetta

Sweet Bell Peppers

Onions

… you get the idea.

I used Pancetta, Sweet Bell Peppers and Onions in our Easter Frittata.

Sauté your goodies to the desired doneness.

Drain off any excess oil.

Pour in your egg mixture; dollop in small pieces of Ricotta cheese, followed by the Mozzarella cheese and a tablespoon of reserved grated Parm.  Let the mixture cook, undisturbed, just until the edges set.  Bake for 15 minutes.  The center should still be a little loose when you carefully remove the pan.  Let it rest for about 5 minutes, leaving a towel or hot pad draped over that screaming hot handle.

This dish is nice hot or at room temperature, perfect for a crowd at brunch.  This recipe would easily serve 4.

Very yummy!

Ya know… I’ve never had a Peeps® before, really!

Peeps, ACK!

Can you see that I bit the head off first?

… and I don’t think I will again, ACK!

Our Easter Baskets

We skipped lunch, I guess because we ate too much candy!

Easter Dinner

Now, dinner was a whole different ballgame.

I’m pretty sure we’ve had this before, but it makes for an excellent holiday meal.

Boar’s Head® Sweet Slice Ham, just warmed through in a very hot pan, roasted fresh Asparagus with Olive Oil, granulated Garlic and S&P; then let’s not forget my husband’s favorite holiday bread, Pillsbury® Pop and Fresh Crescent Rolls.  Pretty easy-peasy meal actually.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

