Aloha Friday Kine Grindz! Kiyoshi Ramen ‘N’ More

Some time back, my husband was reading an article in the newspaper about this couple from Kaneohe (yes, I said Kaneohe Hawaii – where I’m from) who were opening up a Ramen Shop and on Friday’s they served Hawaiian Food… WHAT?!  I’m there!

I sent off an email to the establishment and received a very nice response saying that they are in the restaurant all the time; please stop in to say ALOHA!

WE DID!

We were greeted with a warm “ALOHA, welcome” by two young men and shown to a table.

Now, what to eat, what to GRIND?

I wanted to try everything and DH was eyeing up the next table’s HUGE ramen bowls… NO!  It’s Aloha Friday, Hawaiian food is the order of the day!

Kiyoshi Ramen 'N' More Chicken Katsu Bento

Chicken Katsu, Corned Beef Hash, Egg, Spam and Hot Dog all on a bed of steamed white Rice

My husband finally decided on the Chicken Katsu Bento, MMM!

Kiyoshi Ramen 'N' More LauLau Plate

Pork LauLau, 2 scoop rice, some of DH’s Hash, Macaroni Salad and in the little dishes, Haupia and LomiLomi Salmon

For myself, it just HAD to be the LauLau Plate! Oh my gravy all over my two scoops rice (that’s OMG! in my world) THAT was ONO~LICIOUS!!  I had been looking forward to this afternoon’s lunch, we hadn’t had LauLau since last May when we were back home in Hawaii.

My husband and I usually share our plates, so I guess we did get to try several things.

As we were finishing up our meal, I asked one of the young men if Celeste was in the restaurant, “Yup, my Mom is in the kitchen, she made your food.”  And just then up she walked, what a gracious hostess!  We sat and talked for quite some time, only to find out that we (both my husband and I) have several friends in common, and yet we had never met Celeste back home in Kaneohe.

What a wonderful Aloha Friday afternoon and believe me, we will be back to Kiyoshi Ramen ‘N’ More, often!

A Hui Hou!
Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Aloha Friday Kine Grindz! Kiyoshi Ramen ‘N’ More

  1. Aileen Shea July 15, 2016 at 12:43 pm Reply

    I know Celeste too! One of her good friends is one of my good friends from work. I haven’t seen Celeste in years but our friend Mai’ono told me she moved to Prescott a while ago. I would love to go to her restaurant & I’m going to have my Husband take a detour next time we go to Phoenix.a

    • auntiedoni July 15, 2016 at 3:40 pm Reply

      AILEEN! Kiyoshi Ramen N More is DA BOMB! Celeste and her husband Guy have had this place open since mid-March and I told Michael that we just HAD to go and eat on Aloha Friday. We finally did, and we can’t wait to go back again. VERY ONO~LICIOUS!! Who knew, Hawaiian food in the desert. You guys should make the drive up here, it’s so much cooler and nicer too!

    • auntiedoni July 15, 2016 at 3:55 pm Reply

      Aileen, on another note, do shoot me an email, I’m sure that you can see my email there… I’d love to hear from you 😀

  2. amommasview July 18, 2016 at 9:13 pm Reply

    Truly an Aloha Friday then 🙂

    • auntiedoni July 18, 2016 at 10:45 pm Reply

      Indeed! Are you from Hawaii then?

      • amommasview July 19, 2016 at 1:32 am

        Nope, unfortunately not, but I’ve spent a bit of time there and can’t wait to go back and visit our friends again. It’s where my souls feels at home truly.

Leave a Reply

