Hawaiian-Style Lunch For Two At Home In The Middle Of The Desert

Yup, that’s right.

My husband made a request the other day, he said that he was really ono (hungry for) for some Poke and Sushi.  Well, I was out and about and stopped into my favorite green grocer.  HEH! They’ve got a Sushi Counter, ya know the kind were they make it right in front of you to take home, complete with Wasabi, Pickled Ginger and a small packet of Shoyu (they had chopsticks and forks too 😉 ).

Also in the fresh fish case they had Ahi fillets, CHEAP…I love this place.

DING DING DING!!!  LUNCH!  YUM!

When I got home, I made up a batch of Shoyu Ahi Poke with a beautiful half pound Ahi steak and served that with the Unagi (Fresh Water Eel) Nigiri Sushi.

What a treat!

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Hawaiian-Style Lunch For Two At Home In The Middle Of The Desert

  1. Julie Yates May 17, 2017 at 1:31 pm Reply

    I’m starting to hear a lot about poke lately! I never had heard of it before until recently, now it seems to be trending. Our local grocery store here in Indiana even had some in the seafood case!

  2. Krystle May 17, 2017 at 7:00 pm Reply

    Sounds ONO!!

    • auntiedoni May 18, 2017 at 8:54 am Reply

      Krystle, I wonder, did you folks try Poke while in Hawaii?
      I know that there a few Poke shops in Utah.
      I wish we had that here, but at least I know how to make my own none 🙂

      • Krystle May 20, 2017 at 7:35 am

        Aloha Auntie,
        We did try it when we were on our Honeymoon years ago. We need to find it again on our next visit.
        I’ll have to check out the Poke shops here in Utah, Mahalo for the info.
        Hope you have a great weekend 🙂

      • auntiedoni May 20, 2017 at 8:44 am

        … or, make your own!! A hui hou

Leave a Reply

