Pink Lemonade

While on my last visit to Trader Joe’s, I saw Pink Lemons.  Hmmm, what’s this? I murmured.   I turned around and one the helpful team members said, “Doesn’t that look interesting?  I haven’t tried those yet, but I’m going to.”

Okay, so will I.

I rolled the Lemons on the cutting board, using the heal of my hand for a bit before slicing them across their “equators” to ensure maximum juice release first off.

I’ve never made Lemonade from scratch before, so I did a quick search on the Internet and found several pretty simple, basic recipes, all saying about the same thing.

1 C. Granulated Sugar

1 C. Water

1 C. freshly squeezed Lemon Juice

Combine the Sugar and Water in a small pan and place over low heat, stirring until the Sugar is completely dissolved; allow to cool.  To a pitcher, add an additional 3-4 cups of water along with the Lemon Juice; stir and refrigerate for at least an hour.  Taste and adjust to your taste.

Easy.

Well, I didn’t exactly get a full cup of Lemon juice, so we adapt.  If it’s a one to one ratio of everything and then add additional water, no problem.

Geez!  All I got out of those three Lemons was two glasses of Lemonade, and does that look Pink  to you?  I thought not.  Oh well, it tasted lovely, though next time I make Lemonade from scratch I’ll try it with Meyer Lemons instead.

Tagged: , ,

10 thoughts on “Pink Lemonade

  1. Patrons of the Pit June 20, 2017 at 11:58 am Reply

    Well how about that! I don’t think I ever heard of pink lemons before. But you did the obvious, and most poetic thing you could with them, that is for sure! It surely ain’t pink tho.

    Aloha Auntiedoni!

    • auntiedoni June 20, 2017 at 12:50 pm Reply

      Ya know PotP, I thought those Lemons just looked so cool on the outside, that the insides must be just as interesting. But they just tasted like regular ole’ Lemons to me.
      A hui hou, until we meet

  2. Addie Raines June 20, 2017 at 12:02 pm Reply

    Looks good to me.

    Next time, before you roll your citrus, place it in the zapper for no more than five seconds and then roll them. You will get even more juice out of the citrus products.

    • auntiedoni June 20, 2017 at 12:51 pm Reply

      Very true Addie! Unfortunately I didn’t remember that until after I cut these puppies open! 😀

  3. becomebetty June 20, 2017 at 1:58 pm Reply

    Meyer lemons are the best but are seasonal. Youll have to cut back on the sugar too. Nice post.

    • auntiedoni June 20, 2017 at 4:12 pm Reply

      Hi Brenda, mahalo, thanks so much for stopping by! And yes, Meyer Lemons are only available from November til March. I do still have about a cup of juice in the freezer, but I was going to make some more Curd with it for a Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie for DH again. I made Marmalade earlier this year for my Mom, MMM ⭐ Check out my past posts where I’ve made various things using Meyer Lemons. ALOHA!

  4. Krystle June 20, 2017 at 5:35 pm Reply

    Yum! Fresh Lemonade…. 🙂

    • auntiedoni June 20, 2017 at 6:59 pm Reply

      Krystle, we’re going to try it again, maybe with Limes next time 💡 A hui hou!

      • Krystle June 20, 2017 at 9:08 pm

        Add a splash of vodka and you’ll have yourself a nice summer cocktail. 🙂 Cheers.

      • auntiedoni June 21, 2017 at 7:00 am

        YUM! Hard Lemon/Limeade!

Leave a Reply

