More Lemons, Meyer Lemon Bars

I think my brain is stuck on Lemons just now…

Meyer Lemon Bars

For the crust:

1 ¼ C. All purpose Flour

½ C. Powdered Sugar

1 Tbsp. Corn Starch

½ C. softened Unsalted Butter

For the filling:

3 Eggs

1 ½ C. Granulated Sugar

The zest of 1 Meyer Lemon

½ C. freshly squeezed Meyer Lemon Juice (approx. 2 Lemons)

½ C. All purpose Flour

Extra Powdered Sugar to dust the tops later

Preheat the oven to 350⁰

Line an 8×8 square pan with parchment paper.

Super easy crust for Meyer Lemon Bars

I almost forgot to remove the Alligator Clips before I put this in the oven 😀

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients for the crust with a whisk; cut in the Butter with a fork or pastry cutter until it’s crumbly (I used a Food Processor, it’s faster and easier).

Transfer the mixture to the pan and press the dough firmly into the bottom of the pan; bake for 10 minutes.

Whisk together the filling ingredients, minus that extra Powdered Sugar; pour the filling mixture over that still hot crust and bake for another 25 minutes or until the filling is set.

Cool on a rack to room temp and then refrigerate uncovered for at least 2 hours.

Dust the top liberally with that extra Powdered Sugar and slice, how good does that look?!

*Cooks note: If you can’t find Meyer Lemons, regular Persian Lemons are perfectly fine, just a little bit more tart than Meyers.  I like to freeze Meyer Lemon juice in half cup portions when they’re in season, November through March.

ENJOY!

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “More Lemons, Meyer Lemon Bars

  1. Blogtastic Food June 24, 2017 at 6:48 pm Reply

    Wow yum! I could snack on all those lemon bars! (:

    • auntiedoni June 25, 2017 at 8:56 am Reply

      Don’t they look great, and the taste even better! Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. Joey Hughes June 25, 2017 at 9:09 am Reply

    Lovely recipe Doni…..so refreshing on these unusually hot days. I put them in the freezer for extra coldness. Once you use meyer lemons, its hard to go back thats for sure! I am on my last meyer lemon from the coast this winter….am saving it for a few special dishes.
    I did make some preserved lemons when i had a boatload….have you made that? So easy and great to add to rice or orzo or a relish.

    • auntiedoni June 25, 2017 at 9:20 am Reply

      JOEY!!! Miss you lady, where ya been? Yeah, Meyer Lemons are so nice; I’m mad at you for not sending me any from the Coast! I wish I could have a tree of my own, but. Yes, I did make Preserved Meyer Lemons a few years back for my Mother in a nice big ole’ Mason Jar, she loved them! Maybe I’ll do it again next Fall when the Meyers come out. Drop me a line sistah!

Leave a Reply

