Baked Chocolate Donuts

I’ve been eyeing up this Wilton 6-Cavity Donut Pan for, well, ever.  Not long ago, I was out and about with Missus Dear Friend on one of our “Girlies Day Out”.  We went into Bed Bath & Beyond and what was calling my name?

What the heck, it’s only $9.99, I should be able to make a decent baked, rather than fried donut, right?  I followed the directions that came on the pans sleeve…

The first batch, I think I filled the pan a bit too much, there isn’t a hole.  Maybe the icing would hide that.

The next batch looked pretty, but the texture was off, they were too airy (can you see those huge pockets of air?).

This Sunday’s Brunch was disappointing.   It’s a good thing a made a BIG pan of Bacon too.

Conclusion:  We’ll need to look for a different recipe maybe, but we will try again.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Baked Chocolate Donuts

  1. Julie Yates July 18, 2017 at 5:49 am Reply

    About 5 years ago, I ordered such a pan from the King Arthur Flour website – it looks just like yours so maybe it’s the same brand – but anyway, they have a ton of recipes on their website for baked doughnuts and I’ve never been disappointed! Your chocolate doughnuts looked very yummy though, and I bet they were delish!

    • auntiedoni July 18, 2017 at 8:19 am Reply

      Mahalo, thanks Julie. We liked the flavor but not the texture. I’m not sure what I did wrong, but I sure will try it again.

Leave a Reply

