Crispy Home Fries With Peppers And Onions

I don’t know about you, but I follow Serious Eats on Face Book.  I haven’t tried any of their recipes until now.  I saw this post about trying to find “… those perfect, crisp home fries …”; I thought I’d give them a go.

Now, normally I don’t buy small New Potatoes or Fingerlings either, I go for Yukon Gold or Baby Dutch Yellow Potatoes, but I went for it and got a small pound and a half bag of Baby Red Potatoes.  In addition, rather than use Poblano Peppers, I used up the last of my Mini Sweet Peppers and some Sweet White Onions.  Oh and one more deviation from the original recipe, sorry Kenji, but rather than heating the pan with Vegetable Oil, I used some of my rendered Bacon fat, I mean come on man, what doesn’t taste better than anything cooked in Bacon fat, I ask ya?!  I always have a small container of Bacon fat in the refrigerator, I even made one up for my Mother.

I got a jump start on our Sunday Brunch by par-boiling the potatoes on Saturday, quartering them and tossing them in some neutral oil.  Once they were cooled, I wrapped the bowl and stash them in the `fridge over night.

This past Sunday’s Brunch was easy-peasy.  I had some leftover Bacon (WHAT?!)  that I reheated in the microwave oven, got some toast goin’ on as well as poached eggs and then I finished off the `taters.

Meh, they were okay I suppose, but I really prefer Home Fries prepared my way better.  These were not as creamy on the inside as my par-baked  and then chilled (over night) Yukon Gold or Baby Dutch suds.  Maybe I’ll give this technique one more chance with my tuber of choice.

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Crispy Home Fries With Peppers And Onions

  1. Addie Raines August 1, 2017 at 5:41 am Reply

    My favorite was to make home fries is to use up leftover baked taters. Sauted in butter and bacon fat combined, it is like heaven. Take up a piece of tater, dip it into the egg yolk and you have now had a taste of breakfast heaven.

    • auntiedoni August 1, 2017 at 8:28 am Reply

      😎 I just adore a good breakfast! Thanks for stoppin’ by Addie

  2. RossC August 1, 2017 at 6:25 am Reply

    That’s my kind of breakfast/brunch.. and I consider bacon fat to be a staple.. :O)
    Serious Eats is a good blog.. I often change up a recipe of theirs a bit, to suit my tastes.. I enjoy reading the comment section.. Food snobs amuse me… ;o)

    • auntiedoni August 1, 2017 at 8:30 am Reply

      🐱 I’m with you Ross, food snobs crack me up!

  3. robin August 2, 2017 at 1:47 am Reply

    hehe my boyfriend is drooling over this breakfast/brunch, i am usually not that hungry in the morning so i eat boring crackers *lol*

    • auntiedoni August 2, 2017 at 8:08 am Reply

      Yeah, I’m with you Robin, that’s why alot of mornings we have brunch; oh and thanks for stopping by, come back again soon.

Leave a Reply

