KAF’s Herb and Garlic Bubble Loaf

I got a King Arthur Flour Catalog a few weeks back, and on the cover was this LUSCIOUS looking loaf of bread, they called it a “tear & share”.
For the first time in our entire marriage, my husband actually read this food magazine (I get several) and brought it over to me.

DH: Look at this! Can you make this for us? This looks really good, I love homemade bread!
Me: Sure! It does look good, doesn’t it!

http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/herb-and-garlic-bubble-loaf-recipe

I gathered all of the ingredients, re-read the recipe; I even did TWO “live chats” with KAF’s Baker’s Hotline with a few follow questions that weren’t clear to me.
I followed the recipe as well as the helpful information that I received on the chat line… 5 hours later (I took my time and didn’t rush the process) we sat down a dinner to what looked and smelled heavenly!

The Bubble Loaf was cracker-like on one side and the inside was very doughy and unappealing.

That goodness the Chicken Cacciatore over Rigatoni was outstanding.

After everything was cleaned up for the evening, my husband gives me a big hug and says, “Well, ok that was a no-go, what new recipe are we going to try next?”
AWW! He’s such a love!

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “KAF’s Herb and Garlic Bubble Loaf

  1. Addie Raines August 3, 2017 at 5:55 am Reply

    He is a definite keeper. Next time let him help. Since he used the word *WE! *

    On Thu, Aug 3, 2017 at 8:11 AM, My Kitchen In The Middle Of The Desert wrote:

    > auntiedoni posted: “I got a King Arthur Flour Catalog a few weeks back, > and on the cover was this LUSCIOUS looking loaf of bread, they called it a > “tear & share”. For the first time in our entire marriage, my husband > actually read this food magazine (I get several) and ” >

    • auntiedoni August 3, 2017 at 9:24 am Reply

      It took awhile at first, but he rarely use “I” anymore πŸ˜‰

  2. RossC August 3, 2017 at 6:40 am Reply

    Don’t you just love it when a recipe doesn’t turn out as expected?.. I tend to blame myself, even if I know I precisely followed directions..

    • auntiedoni August 3, 2017 at 9:26 am Reply

      Yeah, I’m the same way Ross, but I mean I really took my time. Maybe next time I’ll try using weight measurements rather than volume.

  3. Krystle August 3, 2017 at 8:48 am Reply

    Bummer about the loaf, Auntie! I make a similar garlic pull-a-part using Pillsbury biscuits. It’s not homemade bread, but for this working gal, it’s quick and easy to throw together. (And delicious too!) πŸ™‚
    So cute that your husband found the recipe in your magazine.

    • auntiedoni August 3, 2017 at 9:29 am Reply

      Heh, I’ll give that recipe a spin Krystle!
      … and yeah, itsn’t DH just the best? He’s already “pulled out” another recipe that he’d like us to try ❀

  4. Krystle August 3, 2017 at 10:09 am Reply

    Take a look, Auntie. Hopefully you will like them πŸ™‚

    http://www.eatcakefordinner.net/2012/01/mini-garlic-monkey-breads.html?m=1

    • auntiedoni August 3, 2017 at 10:15 am Reply

      Copy&Pasted already, Mahalo Krystle, and as always, so nice to “see” you

Leave a Reply

