A~MAZ~ING BREAD

From time to time, our niece (well, we call her that `cuz she’s married to my husband’s brother’s son), Mary Elizabeth and I video-chat; she was telling and SHOWING me this great bread that her husband had made for the family. She sent me the recipe from this gal’s blog site, and as I’m reading the recipe I’m thinking to myself, this doesn’t sound right to me, but we’ll give it a whirl.

The Family’s Amazing Bread

3 C AP flour

1 ¾ tsp Course Kosher Salt

½ tsp Active Yeast

1 ½ C Water, divided

Pinch of granulated Sugar

In a small bowl dissolve the yeast and sugar with ¼ of warm water (no hotter than 105⁰), let stand for about 5 minutes, until the yeast activates (gets foamy).

In a large bowl, combine the flour and salt with a whisk or fork.

Add in the yeast mixture and remaining water (room temperature) and mix well with a rubber spatula.

The dough will be VERY sticky.

Cover with plastic wrap and leave sit at room temp for 12 to 18 hours.

Preheat the oven @ 450⁰ with an enamel cast iron dutch oven or any other oven safe pot with a well fitting lid (I own a Le Creuset as well as a Tramontina from Walmart, way cheaper!) in it for 30 minutes.

In the meantime, turn the now risen dough out on to a well floured surface, remember, it’s still very sticky; shape the dough in a boule and let it rest for that 30 minutes.  Cover with that plastice wrap (no need to get more) that was coving the bowl earlier, as to not form a skin on the dough.

DING!  The 30 minutes are up, now carefully remove the pot from the oven, taking off the lid and place the dough in to the now SCREAMING HOT pot; cover and bake for 30 minutes.

DING!  The next 30 minutes are up, now remove the lid and bake for another 15 minutes.

Remove your masterpiece from the dutch oven and cool on a wire rack for a couple of minutes (my husband’s hardest couple of minutes today) before slicing and then completely prior to storing.

I add a half of a cup of coarsely grated Parmesan cheese to the dough as it was resting for added flavor.  You make it your own with what your family likes.

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “A~MAZ~ING BREAD

  1. ChickenMom March 23, 2014 at 2:18 pm Reply

    bread? BREAD? what’s that??? 😉

    Like

    • auntiedoni March 23, 2014 at 4:25 pm Reply

      Ummm, maybe you need a loaf for that jar of marinara I’m bringin’ up there? HMMM?

      Like

  2. […] back, I was talking about this great bread recipe that our Dear Niece-In-Law gave me, it’s a No Knead Bread made with All Purpose Flour.  We went over to a neighbor’s for dinner a couple of weeks back, […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.