Nectarine Upside Down Cake

In our hectic past few months, we moved my Mother back to her home town in California (I’ll tell you more about that later). The great thing about going to a very small farming community in the Summer is, you can go to the farm stands to get the most wonderful fresh fruits you’ll ever eat. My husband has asked for years why I don’t eat that much fruit. Well, here’s my answer: as a kid I spent many a Summer picking tree-ripe fruit and sitting on the back porch with dripping-down-your-elbow-delicious-fruit, there’s absolutely no comparison.

On our last day in California before driving back home, Mom’s friend took us out to the orchards and got us a flat of assorted stone fruits. Peaches, apricots, plumcots and nectarines (oh and we stopped and the berry patch too). Our car smelled heavenly. I’d betcha that huge box weighted at least 20 pounds.

We did share some of our bounty with friends and neighbors, but this last bit was going fast, and I needed to think of something to do before they went south.

Upside down cake, yum.

I hadn’t made that in the longest time, so I searched the web and decided on David Lebovitz’s recipe, at least in general anyways.

I sliced up the different varietals, that’s why the color differences, and placed them in to my cast iron skillet that had already been prepared with the melted butter and sugar. I didn’t use any berries (we ate those up long ago), just crammed the pan full of nectarines, topped it with the cake batter and baked it off.

Very nice.

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Nectarine Upside Down Cake

  1. floursugareggsandbutter July 11, 2014 at 6:06 am Reply

    Delish!
    I have never been that fond of apricots (prolly never had a really ripe one tho) and those plumcots have caught my attention.
    Must try to locate some in my area.
    The cherries have been so good this year and we really ate our share lol.
    Still had about a pound left when we burned out so I made a Clafouti.
    Was oh-so rich….
    Discovered that clafouti is just a fancy word for magic cobbler (batter on bottom, layer of fruit and bake… the batter rises and makes a buttery top crust) lol!

    Like

    • auntiedoni July 11, 2014 at 7:49 am Reply

      LOVE baked goods! In the past, I didn’t make too many goodies, mainly because DH and I will eat it if it’s in the house. So I stopped for many years. But, what the heck, right? Eat, drink and be merry … 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.