Char Siu or Chinese Bar-B-Que Chicken

Since moving to the ‘Middle Of The Desert’, I have been looking for ways to make dishes and/or ingredients that I use in dishes inspired by Hawaii.  One dish or ingredient that I’ve been experimenting with is Char Siu or Chinese Bar-B-Que. I’ve made mention that I’ve tried acoupla different sauces or dry mixes that season the meat to achieve the desired flavor.

[photo credit to Walmart.com]

On this go `round, I tried Lee Kum Kee Char Siu Sauce.

My favorite Green Grocer had lovely little Organic Chickens on sale and you know me already, a light bulb went off over my head  💡 … let’s try Char Siu Chicken.  I was going to make it Huli Huli Style but the Monsoon storms finally started and they can be very unpredictable, so I  tossed the birdie in the oven in stead.

I marinated the deconstructed whole Chicken in a half jar of the Lee Kum Kee sauce for three days and then roasted it off at 375° until the breast meat reached 165° and the dark meat got to 175° … DONE!  I mean come on man, how ONO  (delicious in Hawaiian 😉 ) does that look?!

Looks pretty, but the taste isn’t quite there, for me nor DH anyways.  So, what to do with all of this Chicken you ask?

Fried Rice! 

Mise en place or everything in place before you start is always a good bet.

HEH!  What happened to the photograph of our finished product?

OOPS!  Sorry, I got so excited, I forgot that part of this story, but you know how it all goes, right?

WHOA! That’s alot of Fried Rice

[File Photo]

I packed up some of our trial run Char Siu Chicken Fried Rice to share with the gals in our Community’s Office and then we had the rest for our lunch.  DH wasn’t all that thrilled with this version, “I like Char Siu Pork!  Stick with tradition!” 😀

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.