Stromboli or Rolled Calzone

A while back, I posted my SIL’s version of what she called Rolled Calzone, that I have now come to find is actually called Stromboli, I mean DE~LI~CIOUS~NESS!

We were invited to a St. Patrick’s Day celebration in our neighborhood, basically a block party, and I decided that this would go over well as an appetizer, so I made two.  One of our neighbors asked if I share my recipes, OF COURSE! so Debra, this is for you.

I got Trader Joe’s refrigerated Garlic and Herb Pizza dough and a plain one as well (I like this better than Pillsbury Pizza dough).  I rolled each out on a floured surface to about a 14” X 10” rectangle; I don’t like it doughy, yaknow? But if you do, make it smaller.  Now, of course you could make your own Pizza dough as we have discussed previously, but, in this instance, well, I wanted quick and easy.

I spread about 2 ounces of jarred Pesto out, leaving a 2 inch boarder on the top and bottom edge.

Preheat the oven, by the way, to 400⁰.

Now comes the goodies.

Take about a quarter pound each of your favorite cheese and Italian deli meats ( I use sharp Provolone, Boar’s Head brand Pesto Ham, Genoa Salami and Hot Capocollo) and layer each evenly, again leaving a two inch boarder on the top and bottom edge.

I also like to use jarred Roasted Red Peppers, cut into strips and diced Hot Cherry Peppers for some heat.

Here we go…

Potion the dough with the “long side” towards you.

Starting from the edge closest to you, roll it up as tightly as you can, tucking as you go so that the fillings stay inside.

When you get to the end, pinch the edge to stick to the roll and seal it; tuck the ends under the log.

On a parchment lined half sheet pan, sprinkle some cornmeal and place the roll (I put both on one pan), seam side down.  *Edit: oops, I forgot, at this point brush the Stromboli with a beaten egg white.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until just browned.

Cool on a rack to room temperature and slice as desired.

Stromboli or Rolled Calzone

*note: this tray is less eight, yes 8 slices that my husband had to test taste!

This makes a great appetizer or a light lunch with a nice green salad.

ENJOY!

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Stromboli or Rolled Calzone

  1. […] they are now GF-DF-Pescetarians, it works out best this way.  So, with that said, my DH requested Stromboli and a “Nibble Platter” consisting of varies Olives, Veggies, Cheese and […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.