A Different Twist On Salad Dressing

I really like to make my own Vinaigrette.  This way, I know what’s in it; I can control the amount of salt and vinegar, which we don’t care too much for.

My husband just loves Anchovies added to his salad, so I found some in a jar at one of those high end markets and he went absolutely wild for them.  Mind you, they’re not cheap (as compared to the stuff in a tin), so when he finished off one of his jars, I noticed there was all this oil left and it had that potent fish smell and taste to it.

Hmmm  💡

What if I used that oil in the dressing?  Let’s try it.

Homemade vinaigrette ingredients

Anchovy Vinaigrette

2 Tbsp. Anchovy Oil

4 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 Tbsp. White Balsamic Vinegar

1/4 tsp. Mustard

1 Garlic Clove, finely minced

1/2 tsp. dried Oregano

Salt and Pepper to taste

Find some sort of covered glass container that you’d like to keep your dressing in, I use a half pint mason jar.

First into your jar is the vinegar, then the salt, I use just a pinch.  Shake well to dissolve the salt into the vinegar. Next in is the Mustard (this helps to emulsify the dressing), what ever type you have on hand, I have Spicy Brown Mustard in our `fridge; give it another good shake.  Everybody else, into the pool… Add the remaining ingredients and give it one more health shake.

Oops, don't forget the mustard in your homemade vinaigrette

Isn’t that beautiful? (oops, I forgot the Mustard in the other photo  😀 )

Give it a taste!  It does not taste like anchovies! Believe me, I can’t stand anchovies; I gross out ever time I come near them, ACK! :/  But this dressing has that umami flavor, that nice mouth-feel, ya know?  It truly is good.  And yes, you got it!  The basic recipe that I use for any Vinaigrette is 1:3, one part Vinegar to 3 parts Oil, easy-peasy.

Keep your dressing in the refrigerator and it’ll be okey-dokey for a super long time, but I think it’ll be gone pretty quickly.  ⭐

Missus Dear Friend was just saying the other day that she too will be making her own salad dressing, so I made an extra jar for her as well.

ENJOY!

(As always, remember that a recipe is just someone else’s idea.  Take it and make it your own, using different components, like maybe Rice Wine Vinegar or Canola Oil .. the skies the limit 😉 )

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “A Different Twist On Salad Dressing

  1. Missus DF January 20, 2017 at 5:52 am Reply

    Oh yummY! Anxious to try with the white balsamic as you know I don’t really care for the taste of “young” vinegar but I do like dark balsamic. I’m trying to break my “creamy” dressing bad habit…LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni January 20, 2017 at 4:58 pm Reply

      LOVE creamy style dressing/dips!! A big bowl of raw veg and dip MMM!

      Like

  2. Julie Yates January 20, 2017 at 8:13 am Reply

    Lately I’ve been seeing several recipes that call for dropping a couple of anchovies into whatever is being cooked and then letting them “melt” into it all. After reading your post, I’m even more intrigued with the idea of these little flavor boosters!

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni January 20, 2017 at 5:04 pm Reply

      Julie, do try the Anchovy leftover oil, so much easier and a ‘cleaner’ looking dressing, especially if you’re not the biggest fan of those little fishies. Such a great enhancer. Think Caesar dressing, but not creamy.

      Like

  3. Carnivore Confidential January 23, 2017 at 8:02 am Reply

    AWESOME! … My wife has us on this “Whole30” diet (happens every year around this time) and this dressing will fit right in … cheers Auntie!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni January 23, 2017 at 9:25 am Reply

      I give you credit Doug, I don’t think I could do that diet, I like grains of all sorts too much. Missus DF (see the comment below) is GF-DF-Pescetarian and she says that she’s never felt better, no more inflammatory foods for her. She got her jar of dressing yesterday 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carnivore Confidential January 23, 2017 at 9:28 am

        I’m three weeks into it now and, I hafta say … I don’t miss the booze, dairy or sugar BUT … man, I miss the bread … LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, Bread … 😦
        Oh well … happy wife, happy life 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. […] this all to your liking in my homemade Salad Dressing; add some fresh Herbs from my Patio Pot Garden for added interest.  Plate the salad and top with […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.