STOP! Wait, Please Watch The Maiden Voyage Of My New Weber Rotisserie

[This is from my You Tube Channel, please enjoy]

Oh my gravy all over my two scoop rice (that’s OMG! in my world if you haven’t been here before).

I finally took the plunge and got myself a Weber Rotisserie for my ‘big girl’ grill.  I’ve wanted one of these for the longest time, really!

I racked my brain for a while as to what I would make for my maiden voyage on the spit… WELL!  It just had to be a Hawaiian Style Huli Huli Chicken, of course.  Huli, means to turn in Hawaiian, thus making Huli Chicken seemed the natural choice on my new electric rotisserie.

I had a bottle of Hawaii’s Famous Huli Huli Sauce in the pantry; I went out and bought a fresh, whole yardbird (unbrined, that sauce is soy based and could be salty) … so we’re good to go!

I should probably point out here that Huli Chicken as we call it back home, can be found on most weekends in just about any neighborhood as fundraisers, or just because.  Let your nose be the guide, you’ll know when you’ve found it … the smell is like no other.  Keawe Wood (which is in the same family as Mesquite) smoke is in the air and cars are flocking around a particular parking lot.  Large rectangular open grills are set-up with the coolest home-rigged rotisseries you’ve ever seen.  You pull your car up to ‘the lady’ who asks you how many Huli Chickens you would like, quarter, halves or a whole one and hands it off to you in a brown paper bag, piping hot of the grill, MMM!!

Let’s grill some bird.

I marinaded the chicken for 24 hours in the sauce and then trussed and skewered that birdie for the grill.

As the grill was preheating, I trussed the chicken and attached it to the main rotisserie rod and impaled the two forks through the flesh.  My grill was all ready, as instructed on the “how to” video seen on Weber.com.  I was a bit anxious, but I got through it.

The smells that came wafting along were so heady, I sat outside with an adult beverage, even though it’s still Winter and freezing cold and windy out, just to enjoy that smell of HOME!

An hour and fifteen minutes later, it was all over with…

MAN!

Earlier in the day, I had made Zippy’s Macaroni Salad, Quick Cucumber Kim Chee and a fresh pot of steamed White Rice … or as we would say in Hawaii, we had one Huli Chicken Plate with one scoop mac and one scoop rice (vegetables are always optional 😉 ).

This chicken was so moist and flavorful.  The soy sauce in the marinade acts as your salt, no need to add anything else, I’m not kidding, just remember to keep turning it while in the `fridge.

MMM!

I’m very happy.

*Cook’s note: Also, please take a peck at my You Tube channel 😀

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “STOP! Wait, Please Watch The Maiden Voyage Of My New Weber Rotisserie

  1. RossC March 4, 2018 at 9:20 am Reply

    How wonderfully delicious that looks… I envy the grill and your skills.. :O)

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni March 4, 2018 at 9:32 am Reply

      Mahalo, thank you Ross, you’re too kind.
      It was quite ono (delicious).
      DH and I ate half of that birdie and will have a repeat for lunch today :p
      So glad you stop in, hit the like button next time around too wouldya 😉

      Like

  2. Julie Yates March 4, 2018 at 3:09 pm Reply

    Congratulations on your new toy! How fun!!! The chicken looks amazing !

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni March 4, 2018 at 3:15 pm Reply

      Thank you kindly Julie! 😎
      I hemmed and hawed over purchasing a rotisserie for years,
      but after finally investing in what I’m calling ‘my big girl grill’,
      the progression just went that way.
      So very happy with it, can’t wait to play with this cutie again 😉

      Like

  3. Patrons of the Pit March 5, 2018 at 1:11 pm Reply

    Nicely done, Auntiedoni! A tip of the pit master tongs to thee and your new skill set! I have been secretly longing for a rotisserie set up for years as well, and this post may have pushed me over the edge. Surely does look like a lot of fun. Something about slowly revolving meat, I guess, that speaks straight to the soul.

    Aloha Auntiedoni. Blessings to you and the DH!

    Liked by 1 person

    • auntiedoni March 5, 2018 at 2:22 pm Reply

      Thank you kindly Sir, that means alot coming from an expert such as yourself.
      I say, go for it, get that rotisserie set up, the results are simply amazing!
      Aloha to you, your Missus and sweet little angel girl

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.